Newsmakers - June/July

Dr. Ronald A. Butow, professor of molecular biology, was recently elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Dr. Butow, holder of the Beatrice and Miguel Elias Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science, was recognized during the 104th American Society for Microbiology meeting in late May in New Orleans.

Dr. Marilyn Leitch, medical director of the Southwestern Center for Breast Care and professor of surgical oncology, was awarded the 2004 Macy's Heart and Soul Award.

Dr. Leitch, holder of the S.T. Harris Family Distinguished Chair in Breast Surgery, was honored at a recent reception at the Macy's Galleria store. She was nominated by the Dallas Metro chapter of the American Cancer Society.

A nationally recognized breast-cancer and breast-screening expert, she has been one of the country's leading voices in promoting the continuation of routine screening practices in women aged 40 to 50.

Dr. Dwain Thiele, professor of internal medicine, and Dr. Robert Haley, chief of epidemiology and professor of internal medicine, were recently elected to the Association of American Physicians. They were both inducted as new members April 17. Dr. Haley holds the U.S. Armed Forces Veterans Distinguished Chair for Medical Research, Honoring America's Gulf War Veterans.

Dr. Robert Walker, professor emeritus of surgery and former chairman of the oral and maxillofacial surgery, was recently named to Texas A&M University's Academy of Distinguished Former Students in the College of Science at an annual spring banquet. Dr. Walker is a 1945 Texas A&M graduate.

The academy was established to recognize graduates of Texas A&M's College of Science who have brought honor to their profession through out standing leadership in mathematics, the sciences and medicine.