Newsmakers - April

The National Foundation for Infectious Disease presented its annual award for scientific achievement to Dr. George H. McCracken Jr., professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern and an internationally known expert on pediatric infectious diseases

Dr. McCracken received the 2004 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement at a March dinner held in his honor in Washington, D.C.

"George personifies the qualities of teacher, scholar, and investigator that would make Maxwell Finland proud of this nomination," said Dr. Jerome O. Klein, a member of the foundation's board and the 2002 award winner. "As was true of Dr. Finland, George is a superb role model for the academic-clinician investigator."

Dr. McCracken was among the first researchers to explore how to treat infectious diseases in infants and children, and he is credited with establishing treatment protocols used worldwide. He also discovered that the early use of steroids and antibiotics could reduce or eliminate deafness caused by certain forms of meningitis.

Dr. Mc Cracken holds the Glaxo SmithKline Distinguished Professorship of Pediatric Infectious Diseases and the Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases.

Dr. Donald Seldin, professor of internal medicine and holder of the William Buchanan Chair in Internal Medicine, was honored with the Heroes of Our Heritage award at Parkland Health & Hospital Systems 35th Annual Employee Awards Banquet this year. The honor recognizes a person who has had a profound impact on Parkland and UT Southwestern.

Dr. Seldin, former chairman of internal medicine, helped Parkland become a world-class hospital by assembling top-notch faculty at UT Southwestern and teaching residents with a demanding, caring style, said Dr. Ron Anderson, chief executive officer of Parkland.

Two previous recipients of the Heroes of Our Heritage award were Dr. Charles Baxter, professor emeritus of surgery who helped establish Parkland's world-renowned burn unit, and the late Dr. Jim Carrico, former chairman of surgery.