Dr. Wall named first holder of Harris Distinguished Chair

By Stephen O'Brien
Office of News and Publications

Dr. Michael H. Wall, vice chairman of clinical affairs and associate professor of anesthesiology and pain management, has been named first holder of the S.T. "Buddy" Harris Distinguished Chair in Cardiac Anesthesiology.

The distinguished chair was established by the Eugene McDermott Foundation to honor Mr. Harris, a longtime family friend of the McDermotts and a close business associate of the late Mr. McDermott, the former chief executive officer of Texas Instruments. Mr. Harris served as vice president of TI and was for many years a member of the board of directors.

Dr. Wall was associate professor of anesthesiology and vice chairman of clinical operations at Wake Forest University Health Sciences Center prior to joining UT Southwestern.

In addition to directing cardiothoracic anesthesiology, Dr. Wall will be involved in leading the department's educational programs in vascular and cardiac anesthesiology and critical care medicine.

Dr. Wall said he chose to join UT Southwestern because "important things are happening here, and it is an exciting time to become a part of them."

He served at Lackland Air Force Base from 1994 to 1998, where he was vice chairman of anesthesiology and director of operations for the 586th Medical Squadron at Wilford Hall USAF Medical Center. He was awarded the Meritorious Service Medal and the Air Force Commendation Medal and received the Air Force Achievement Medal for transporting a critically injured Canadian soldier from Haiti to Miami in 1997.

He has published six book chapters and more than 40 papers and abstracts. His research interests include transfusion, homeostasis and end points of resuscitation.

Dr. William Johnston, chairman of anesthesiology and pain management, said, "Dr. Wall adds an essential component to the faculty that is vital for us to reach our potential as a department."

Dr. Wall graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor of science from the University of the Pacific in 1983 and received his medical degree from Dartmouth Medical School in 1987. He was chief resident in anesthesiology at the University of Washington School of Medicine in 1991; he then completed a fellowship in cardiothoracic anesthesiology there and a fellowship in critical care medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine.