Class Notes - March 2014

In Memorium

Class Notes icon

Medical School

  • Raleigh Maurice Hood, M.D. (’46)
  • Joanne Kenner Allensworth, M.D. (’47)
  • Morris L. Britton, M.D. (’47)
  • Paul William Palmer, M.D. (’48)
  • Arthur T. deLarios, M.D. (’52)
  • Werner E. Spier, M.D. (’55)
  • Evelyn Archer, M.D. (’85) 

House Staff

  • Stephen P. Kelleher, M.D. (Internal Medicine)

Medical School

Class of 1963: J. Richard Steadman, M.D., has announced that he is retiring from his surgical practice. Founder of the Steadman Clinic and the Steadman Philippon Research Institute in Vail, Colo., Dr. Steadman has been an award-winning innovator and mentor in the field of orthopaedic sports medicine for more than 40 years. He is internationally known for developing advanced surgical procedures for the knee, including microfracture, a procedure that encourages the regrowth of articular cartilage during repair of the joint. During his career, Dr. Steadman treated more than 12,000 patients, including many elite athletes. He was the U.S. Alpine Chief Physician at nine consecutive Winter Olympic Games from 1976 to 2006 and has served as a consultant for the Denver Broncos and the Colorado Rockies. Born in Sherman, Dr. Steadman graduated from Texas A&M University, where in his first two years he was on the football team coached by Paul “Bear” Bryant. Dr. Steadman will continue to consult at the Steadman Clinic and will continue as Co-Chairman of the institute.

Class of 1974: Edwin B. Morrison, M.D., received the 2013 McLennan County Medical Society’s Gold Headed Cane award.

Class of 1983: Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D., has stepped down as Chancellor of the UT System and has accepted a position at UT Health Science Center at San Antonio as head of Pediatric Transplant Surgery. Dr. Cigarroa served as President of the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio from 2000 until his appointment in early 2009 as the 10th Chancellor of the UT System. As Chancellor, he oversaw one of the largest public university systems in the U.S., with nine academic universities, six health institutions, and a fall 2013 enrollment of more than 213,000. One of 10 children, Dr. Cigarroa is a third-generation physician and is a renowned pediatric and transplant surgeon. After graduating from Yale University and UT Southwestern, he became chief resident in general surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital and completed fellowships in pediatric surgery and transplantation surgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Dr. Cigarroa joined the faculty of UTHSC-San Antonio in 1995, where he served as Director of Pediatric Surgery before serving as President of the institution.

Class of 1985: Robert C. McDonald, M.D., has been named Managing Director of Spindletop Capital Management, a health care focused private equity firm. Dr. McDonald received a Master of Business Administration degree from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.  He completed an internal medicine residency at Parkland Memorial Hospital and Washington University in St. Louis before serving a fellowship in pulmonary medicine at Washington University. Dr. McDonald has 30 years of experience as a physician, executive, and physician leader. Currently, he is President and Founder of Aledo Consulting, Inc., a consulting firm focused on the strategy and reimbursement concerns facing life science and health service companies. For the past 11 years, he has served as course director and faculty member of the M.D./M.B.A. Leadership Forum at Indiana University and was appointed Adjunct Professor within the Business of Medicine Master of Business Administration program at the Kelley School of Business.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Alumni Affairs, UT Southwestern, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9024, or call them in at 214-648-4539.