Class Notes – September 2013

In Memoriam

Medical School

Class Notes

Jim C. Barnett, M.D. (’49)
James W. Burleson, M.D. (’58)
Walter L. Waechter Jr., M.D. (’76)
Michael W. McCord, M.D. (’83)


Medical School

Class of 1973: Paul Tobolowsky, M.D., recently published his first nonfiction book, Stardust Dancing (A Seeker’s Guide to the Miraculous). Dr. Tobolowsky, a retired Dallas-area physician and winner of multiple awards, describes how so-called ordinary life is the miraculous in disguise.

Class of 1982: Stephen Brotherton, M.D., has been elected President of the Texas Medical Association. A past President of the Tarrant County Medical Society, Dr. Brotherton also has served as speaker and vice speaker of TMA’s House of Delegates. The Fort Worth orthopaedic surgeon also was a Texas delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates for 11 years before stepping down in 2009 to accept an appointment to the AMA’s Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs. Dr. Brotherton works at the Fort Worth Bone and Joint Clinic.

Class of 1983: Francisco Cigarroa, M.D., will receive The Chair’s Award on Oct. 2 from the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute. The award, one of the highest honors bestowed by the group, recognizes Dr. Cigarroa for his accomplishments, leadership, and outstanding service to the Latino community. In 2009 Dr. Cigarroa became the first Hispanic to be named UT System Chancellor, overseeing one of the largest public systems of higher education in the nation that consists of nine universities and six health institutions, including UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Cigarroa, who continues to perform liver and kidney transplant surgeries, was appointed to the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science in 2003 and more recently to serve as a Commissioner on the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics. He is a member of the American College of Surgeons, Institute of Medicine, the American Board of Surgery, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Graduate School

Class of 1974: William B. Campbell, Ph.D., recently received the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmacology/Toxicology. Dr. Campbell, who completed his doctorate in Pharmacology at UT Southwestern Medical Center and later joined the UT Southwestern faculty, is currently Chairman of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

School of Health Professions

Class of 2005: Laurie (Schacherer) Cook, R.N, has been appointed Director of Surgery and ICU for Red River Regional Hospital of Bonham, Texas. Ms. Cook earned a bachelor’s degree in health services administration at the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Alumni Affairs, UT Southwestern, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9024, or call them in at 214-648-4539.