Fellows & Residents Notes – December, 2013


Rebecca Collins, M.D., a fourth-year resident in Pathology, recently received the Society for Pediatric Pathology’s Resident Recruitment Award. This competition required submission of a review of an original paper published in the peer-reviewed literature highlighting unique aspects of pediatric pathology and is awarded to the essay expressing the best understanding of the paper’s findings, limitations, and diagnostic and/or therapeutic relevance. 

 Andrew J. Satin, M.D., has been selected as the Director of the Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and Johns Hopkins Hospital. A retired U.S. Air Force Colonel and the recipient of numerous military service and achievement medals, Dr. Satin earned his medical degree at the F. Edward Hébert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and completed a fellowship in maternal-fetal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Satin’s research interests include exercise in pregnancy, an interest that grew out of his work with women in the military and athletes who wanted to stay physically fit during their pregnancies, and ways to reduce the rate of preterm births while improving the health outcomes of pregnant women and newborns. Since 2007 he has served as both Deputy Director of the Ob/Gyn department at the Johns Hopkins medical school and the hospital and chair of the medical board at Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.

 Jason Wang, M.D., a Fellow in Pediatric Pathology, received the Harry B. Neustein Award at the meeting of the Society for Pediatric Pathology for his platform presentation titled “Diagnostic Yield of Targeted Panels of Seizure Genes.” He earned the award  with co-authors Drs. Garrett Gotway, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics in the Eugene McDermott Center of Human Growth and Development; Juan Pascual, Associate Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics, Physiology, and Pediatrics; and Jason Park, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics in th McDermott Center. The Neustein Award is given for the presentation by a pediatric pathologist or trainee best demonstrating the application of new or novel technology to the study of pediatric disease or developmental biology.