Health professions students enter Alpha Eta Honor Society

By Kristen Holland Shear

UT Southwestern’s chapter of the national Alpha Eta Honor Society recently inducted 13 students from the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.

Initiates were Erin Carter, Jessica Coffee and Alexandra Timpson of clinical nutrition; Diana Alvarado, Lesley Berg, Deepa Krishnamurthi, Melanie Langston, Lauren Upton, Katherine Washam and Jessica Woods of physician assistant studies; and Brandon Green, Gina May and Nathan Sutti of prosthetics/orthotics.

Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, president of UT Southwestern, congratulated the initiates and encouraged them to commit themselves to working collaboratively with other health care professionals.

“I believe the future of health care will be different, and I am confident that it will be better for patients,” Dr. Podolsky said. “I encourage you to internalize the commitment to self-evaluation and continuous improvement that is required to provide the very best patient care.”

Cristina Gonzalez, assistant professor of physician assistant studies and president of Alpha Eta, reviewed the history of Alpha Eta. She and Barbara Fryer, assistant professor of medical laboratory sciences and Alpha Eta secretary/treasurer, presented the initiates.

Ms. Gonzalez said being initiated into Alpha Eta is a significant honor for those pursuing a career in the health professions.

“The selection criteria are pretty stringent, particularly for the graduate programs,” she said. “This is definitely something these students can put on their CVs [curriculum vitae].”

The Alpha Eta Society was formed in 1975 by a group of allied health schools to promote scholarship, friendship and recognition of high attainment in the field. With the latest group of scholars, a total of 307 students and faculty members have been inducted into
UT Southwestern’s chapter since its founding in November 1988.

Baccalaureate candidates must have an overall grade point average of 3.5 or better for membership, and master’s degree candidates must have at least a 3.8 grade point average.

UT Southwestern faculty members who are Alpha Eta members recommend and approve the nominees based on their academic standing as well as their leadership and community service involvement.

Each initiate received a certificate, an Alpha Eta lapel pin and a green honor cord to wear with their graduation regalia.