Medical illustrators win awards at convention

By Kristen Holland Shear

Nearly a dozen faculty, students and alumni of the biomedical communications graduate program received awards at the recent Association of Medical Illustrators’ annual meeting in Richmond, Va.

Roshni Nelson, a second-year student in biomedical communications, brought home the Orville Parkes Student Best of Show award, the top honor given to a student, as well as an award of excellence in editorial for her digital media illustration titled “Fertilization.”

Third-year student Derek Wu received an award of excellence in interactive media for “Cellular Layers of the Retina,” and biomedical communications instructor Kenneth Coulter earned one in interactive media/instructional for his educational game titled “Sepsis.”

Kristen Bagnall, Suzanne Ghuzzi, Elizabeth Smith and Carlos Gonzales all received student awards of merit.

Among alumni, Cynthia Turner earned the top award, the Ralph Sweet Members’ Choice Award, and an award of excellence in the marketing/promotional category for her digital media illustration “Rapid Arc Peripheral Lung Tumor Cancer Treatment.” Alumni Keith Kasnot, Scott Weldon and Maya Chaphalkar also received awards.

The winning entries can be viewed online at

The biomedical communications graduate program, founded in 1945, is offered through
UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. The program’s faculty members are part of the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.