Clinical Research Scholars Awards bestowed on 10 faculty members

By Amanda Siegfried

The Department of Clinical Sciences has selected 12 individuals to receive 2008 Clinical Research Scholars Awards, which will provide support for training that prepares them fully for a career as independent clinical investigators.

Individuals selected as Clinical Research Scholars participate in an intensive individualized, comprehensive educational and training program that lasts a minimum of three years. Scholars commit 75 percent of their time to the program, which includes rigorous coursework, an apprenticeship in an ongoing research project and the completion of an independent research project, all leading to a master’s degree in clinical science.

Scholars are chosen not only from UT Southwestern Medical School, but also from
UT Austin School of Nursing, Baylor College of Dentistry, Texas Tech University’s School of Pharmacy and UT Dallas' School of Brain and Behavioral Sciences.

The program began in 2005, and since 2006 has been supported by a grant from the National Institutes of Health. Including the 2008 scholars, 51 researchers have been chosen for the program. The first class of scholars chosen in 2005 completed the program this year.

"Our goal has been to develop the leaders of the next generation of clinical investigators for UT Southwestern and for all of North and Central Texas," said Dr. Milton Packer, chairman of clinical sciences and holder of the Gayle and Paul Stoffel Distinguished Chair in Cardiology. "Our new trainees and graduates will help bring us to the top tier of U.S. institutions in our contributions to clinical and translational research."

The 2008 Clinical Research Scholars from UT Southwestern are: Dr. Brian Bethea, assistant professor of cardiovascular and thoracic surgery; Dr. Lina Chalak, assistant professor of pediatrics; Dr. Kelly Chin, assistant professor of internal medicine; Dr. Paul Croarkin, assistant professor of psychiatry; Dr. Ellen Kaizer, instructor in pediatrics; Dr. John Mansour, assistant professor of surgery; Dr. Shawn McClintock, postdoctoral research fellow in psychiatry; Dr. Elesyia Outlaw, assistant professor of radiation oncology; Dr. Stephen Smith, assistant professor of surgery; and Dr. Matthew Stoll, instructor of pediatrics. 

The 2008 scholars from other institutions are: Dr. Amy Bain, pharmacy resident at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; and Dr. Takashi Komabayashi, assistant professor at Texas A&M Health Science Center — Baylor College of Dentistry.