Commencement marks last use of 'Allied' moniker

By Kristen Holland Shear

Final degrees and certificates that bear the name UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School were conferred on 70 students who completed their studies in May or August.

  Dr. Shelley Mishoe (center) is welcomed to the commencement exercises by Dr. Kern Wildenthal and Dr. Raul Caetano (right).

Days after the commencement exercises, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board joined with the UT System Board of Regents in approving the school’s new name: UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.

During the August ceremony, which took place in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium, students from the school’s physical therapy, clinical nutrition, prosthetics-orthotics and medical laboratory sciences programs were honored.

Dr. Raul Caetano, dean of the School of Health Professions, presided over the event. Alumna Pebble Carter provided the opening remarks and Dr. Jon Williamson, associate dean of the school, presented program descriptions.

Dr. Shelley C. Mishoe, dean of the Medical College of Georgia School of Allied Health Sciences, delivered the commencement address.

Dr. Jo Ann Carson, professor of clinical nutrition, and Kimberly Krumwiede, associate professor of bio­medical communications, served as marshals. Magistrates included Dr. Scott Smith, assistant professor of physical therapy, and Jason Zafereo, instructor of physical therapy.

Dr. Kern Wildenthal, now president of Southwestern Medical Foundation, conferred the degrees.  

UT Southwestern Allied Health School 2008 Graduates

Master of Physical Therapy
Kera Alexander
Kristi Archibald
Traci Bacon
Alexis Berger
Todd Blanchette
Molly Bohmfalk
Mary Brown
Elizabeth DeAnn Corbin
Jason Davis
Ashley Elizabeth Dietzel
Morgan Denson
Erron Dowers
Emily Eastberg
Dirie Fletcher
Erin Giddings
Mallory Jensen
Kenneth Johnson
Tabitha Kennedy
Laura Kiser
Jennifer Luther
Jenny Moore
Kimberly Moore**
Laura Moseley
Kristi Ragsdale
Chase Randolph**
Anita Remmele
Robert Reynolds
Emily Robertson
Allyson Rogers
Lara Trevett
Maisha Turner
Kristen Weaver
April Whitaker
Jeffrey Williams
Haley Wilson
Chelsea Young

Bachelor of Science in Clinical Dietetics
Erin Beth Brewer
Nicole Ann Chase
Whitney Shea Corbett
Rachel Ann Dworaczyk
Elizabeth Ann Hejtmanek
Lisa Garcia Hernandez
Rezwana Khaleque*
Rachel Louise Manfred
Jenna Leigh Miles
Laura Marie Milton
Ashley Elizabeth Netting
Carmen Alina Ordonez
Michaelann Rangel
Aden Daniel Tadelle
Maressa Jamal Valdez

Bachelor of Science in Prosthetics-Orthotics
Brock Bateman
Haley Ann Branch
Alenny Bienvenido
Arce Cabral Edmundo Corchado
Hannah Kathryn Crane
Jayne Christine Drummey
Natalie Dawn Fross
Christina Rock Gambrell
Stephen Wayne Hunt
Kimberlee Jo Johnson
David Polanco

Johanna Victoria Sanchez
Monica Foster Schmieder
Bryan Thomas Sparks
Brittany Laine Stresing

Post-Baccalaurate Certificate in Blood Bank Technology

Donna M. Baker**
Sandy W. Brown**
Jennifer Lynn Pilversack**
Patricia K. Zrodlowski** 

*The candidate received a certificate

**The candidates graduated in August 2008