Reed to lead medical school’s Academic Colleges as Headmaster

Dr. Gary Reed
Dr. Gary Reed

Dr. Gary Reed, Chief Quality Officer of UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics, has been selected to be the next Headmaster of the six Academic Colleges within UT Southwestern Medical School.

He follows Dr. Daniel Foster, Professor of Internal Medicine, who has served as the inaugural Headmaster and has led this transformational program since its formation in 2006. Dr. Reed previously served as Master of the Seldin College at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

“Dr. Reed is well known to our campus, and was selected after a thorough review by a search committee directed by Dr. Charles Ginsburg,” said Dr. J. Gregory Fitz, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, and Dean of the medical school. “Notably, there were many highly qualified applicants for this important position, and the high level of interest predicts good things for our medical education programs in the future.”

In addition to the Headmaster role, Dr. Reed has been named as the medical school’s Associate Dean for Quality, Safety, and Outcomes Education. This additional appointment, which recognizes the institutional tenet that quality improvement is an absolute foundation for clinical excellence, will help in the development of a formal curriculum in quality and safety for students, residents, and faculty. Dr. Reed will play a key role in integrating the Colleges into the curriculum, and in developing the vital clinical quality and safety programs that follow.

“I am humbled by the honor of being selected for these positions given the teaching reputation of UT Southwestern,” Dr. Reed said. “I cannot think of a more fulfilling way to contribute to the future of UT Southwestern than participating in the education of our next generation of physicians and providers in the areas of quality and patient safety.”

Dr. Reed, Professor of Internal Medicine, has held many key clinical and administrative roles at UT Southwestern. He served as Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine from 1983 to 2006, and as Vice Chairman of Internal Medicine from 2006 to 2009. Additionally, he has held adjunct professorships at Baylor University Law School and UT Dallas.

More recently, he has served ably as the founding Chief Quality Officer of the UT Southwestern Health System since 2010, and as Director of a new Clinical Safety and Effectiveness program that has trained more than 350 faculty and staff and generated more than 100 hospital and clinic quality improvement projects.

The medical school’s Academic Colleges are small learning communities that bring together gifted faculty members with small groups of students so that the students can observe and mirror the clinical skills, behaviors, and attitudes of a highly experienced physician. The faculty members act as mentors for the students, guiding them in clinical medicine and reasoning, interpersonal and communication skills, ethics, professionalism, and human behavior. Each college has a Master, who leads a team of mentors.

Medical students are assigned to one of the Colleges on their first day of medical school and remain in that College for all four years of their education. The Colleges – Cary, Estabrook, Fashena, Pritchard, Seldin, and Sprague – are named after prestigious former faculty members and add clinical experiences and a doctoring course early in the curriculum. During their first two years, students meet weekly with faculty members in their College group.

A highly respected and experienced teacher and clinician, Dr. Reed has received numerous teaching awards. He also was named Parkland Hospital Physician of the Year in 2006, and in 2009 he was recipient of the first Watson Award, UT Southwestern’s highest clinical honor, given to an outstanding physician whose work exemplifies the medical center’s commitment to patient care.

Other faculty members who served on the Headmaster selection committee with Dr. Ginsburg were Drs. Angela Mihalic, Associate Dean for Student Affairs; Clarice Grimes, Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Gynecology; Belinda Vicioso, Professor of Internal Medicine; Dennis Burns, Professor of Pathology; James Stull, Chairman of Physiology; and Andrew Zinn, Dean of UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, and Associate Dean for the Medical Scientist Training Program.

Dr. Bruce Meyer, Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs, will be launching a national search for a new Chief Quality Officer. Dr. Reed will continue in this important institutional role until a new leader is identified. 


Dr. Burns holds the Jane B. and Edwin P. Jenevein, M.D., Chair in Pathology.

Dr. Foster holds the John Denis McGarry, Ph.D., Distinguished Chair in Diabetes and Metabolic Research.

Dr. Reed holds the Sinor/Pritchard (Katy Sinor and Kay Pritchard) Professorship in Medical Education Honoring Donald W. Seldin, M.D., the S.T. Harris Family Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine, and the Eva A. Rosenthal Professorship in Internal Medicine.

Dr. Stull holds the Fouad A. and Val Imm Bashour Distinguished Chair in Physiology.

Dr. Vicioso holds the Jose Garcia, M.D., Professorship in Internal Medicine.

Dr. Zinn holds the Rolf Haberecht and Ute Schwarz Haberecht Deanship of the UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.