Horchow Symposium helps women take charge of their health

By Heidi Harris Cannella

UT Southwestern Medical Center will hold its annual Carolyn P. Horchow Women’s Health Symposium on Tuesday, March 25, featuring presentations on robotic surgery, brain repair, cancer, skin care, and plastic surgery.

Elizabeth Maher, M.D., Ph.D.
Elizabeth Maher, M.D., Ph.D.

“Get Smart: Taking Charge of Your Health” will include presentations by and discussions with leading UT Southwestern physicians and scientists. The symposium will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. on the 14th floor of the T. Boone Pickens Biomedical Building, 6001 Forest Park Road. Registration is $50 and includes lunch with the faculty speakers.

Scheduled topics and presenters are:

  • “Robotic Surgery: Star Wars, Medicine, and the Next Frontier” – Dr. Kemp Kernstine, Chief of Thoracic Surgery.
  • “Paradigm Turnover: Sports, Music, and Brain Repair” – Dr. Hunt Batjer, Chair of Neurological Surgery.
  • “Care to Cure: Accelerating the Pace of Cancer Discovery” – Dr. Elizabeth Maher, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Neurology and Neurotherapeutics.
  • “Skin Savvy: Guiding Changes in Skin Care” – Dr. Divya Srivastava, Assistant Professor of Dermatology.
  • “Safe, Wise, and Rejuvenated: Innovations in Plastic Surgery” – Dr. Rod Rohrich, Chair of Plastic Surgery.

Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, President of UT Southwestern, will deliver a report on “UT Southwestern: State-of-the-Art and Beyond,” followed by an update from Dr. John Warner, Vice President and CEO for UT Southwestern University Hospitals, on the William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, scheduled to open later this year.

Divya Srivastava, M.D.
Divya Srivastava, M.D.

The 2014 co-chairs of the Women’s Health Symposium are Ginny W. Eulich and Gloria Eulich Martindale. Dr. Karen Bradshaw, Director of the Lowe Foundation Center for Women’s Preventative Health Care, serves as faculty advisor for the event. Pediatrician Dr. Carol Podolsky is physician advisor.

The symposium is named in honor of co-founder Carolyn P. Horchow, the late wife of Dallas philanthropist and retail entrepreneur Roger Horchow. Mrs. Horchow, who died in 2009, served on the Board of Visitors for UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics.

To register, please send a check for $50 per person to the UT Southwestern Development Office at 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9009.


Dr. Batjer holds the Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Surgery.

Dr. Bradshaw holds the Helen J. and Robert S. Strauss and Diana K. and Richard C. Strauss Chair in Women’s Health.

Dr. Kernstine holds the Robert Tucker Hayes Foundation Distinguished Chair in Cardiothoracic Surgery.

Dr. Maher holds the Theodore H. Strauss Professorship in Neuro-Oncology.

Dr. Podolsky holds the Philip O’Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration, and the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Rohrich holds the Crystal Charity Ball Distinguished Chair in Plastic Surgery, and the Betty and Warren Woodward Chair in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

Dr. Warner holds the Jim and Norma Smith Distinguished Chair for Interventional Cardiology, and the Audre and Bernard Rapoport Chair in Cardiovascular Research.