Class Notes – February 2014

In Memoriam

Medical School

  • Morris L. Britton, M.D. (’47)
  • George J. Race, M.D., Ph.D. (’47)
  • Jack G. Jordan, M.D. (’52)
  • Charles W. Pullen, M.D. (’52)
  • A. Nilon Tallant, M.D. (’55)
  • G. Ken Hempel Jr., M.D. (’59)
  • Jerry C. Coker, M.D. (’60)
  • Patrick E. Gibson, M.D. (’80)


  • Marion Joseph Greve, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • Stephen P. Kelleher, M.D. (Internal Medicine)

School of Health Professions

  • Lorraine Paul (’92)

Medical School

Class of 1960: Richard L. Mabry, M.D., has had his novel of medical suspense, Stress Test, named as a finalist for Book of the Year in the Inspirational Thriller class by Romantic Times Book Reviews.

Class of 1973: Barbara Murray, M.D., is the 2014 President of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. The Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and the Center for the Study of Emerging and Re-emerging Pathogens at UT Health Science Center at Houston, Dr. Murray began her term on Oct. 4, 2013.

Class of 1976: William E. Hauser Jr., M.D., has been named Humana, Inc.’s Retail Market Vice President of Senior Products for Georgia and South Carolina. Dr. Hauser joined Humana in 2009 after serving in leadership roles with Aetna, Prudential Health Care, and Blue Cross Blue Shield.

Class of 1979: Don Wreden, M.D., has been named Chair Elect by the American Medical Group Association (AMGA). Dr. Wreden, who started his AMGA tenure in January, is Chief Medical Group Transformation Officer at Sutter Health in Sacramento, Calif. He previously served as President and CEO at Sutter Medical Group. The AMGA is a trade association representing medical groups, health systems, and other organized systems of care, including some of the nation’s largest, most prestigious integrated delivery systems. 

Class of 1989: Todd M. Van Ye, M.D., is founder and medical director of the Center of Aesthetics and Plastic Surgery in the Fox Valley region of Wisconsin. He is a board-certified plastic surgeon and fully trained in general surgery. As a cosmetic surgeon, he is dedicated to plastic surgery so he can care for patients through third-world medical missions.

Class of 1996: Sidney K. Gicheru, M.D., was nominated as President Elect of the Texas Ophthalmological Association.

Class of 1998: Barbara D. Slager, M.D., was chosen for inclusion in Down East Magazine’s “Maine TopDocs Physician Survey 2014” as one of the top physicians in the field of obstetrics and gynecology.  Dr. Slager, of Coastal Women’s Healthcare in Scarborough, was chosen through a peer review in which Maine doctors were asked who they would go to for help if their own family members had health concerns in the specified areas. A graduate of Texas Christian University, Dr. Slager is a board-certified obstetrician-gynecologist with special interest in adolescent well-woman visits, high and low risk obstetrics, cervical pathology and colposcopy, and contraceptive counseling. She was recently named one of Maine’s Women to Watch in 2013 by Mainebiz.

Class of 2004: Kenyon Duncan, M.D., has joined the medical staff at Carle Hospital in Champaign, Ill. Dr. Duncan completed an anesthesiology residency at the State University of New York Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn.

Class of 2013: J Mack Slaughter, M.D., is a resident in emergency medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. The Music is Medicine Foundation, founded by Dr. Slaughter, made a $150,000 donation to Children’s Medical Center Dallas recently. The funds will be used to purchase instruments for the Children’s music therapy program and for its expansion.

Graduate School

Class of 2007: Jason S. Berman, Ph.D.,  has recently moved back to North Dallas and opened a private practice in clinical psychology. Dr. Berman offers individual and group psychotherapy to treat patients with anxiety, depression, and relationship issues, as well as other problems.

Please send your Class Notes contributions or address changes to the Office of Alumni Affairs, UT Southwestern, 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9024, or call them in at 214-648-4539.