Medical Center wins DiversityFIRST Corporate Leadership Award

By Chelsea Roth

UT Southwestern Medical Center has received a 2013 DiversityFIRST Corporate Leadership Achievement Award for efforts as an advocacy leader in workplace diversity and inclusion.

The award was presented June 20 at the 10th Annual Greater Dallas Best Practices and DiversityFIRST Awards Luncheon at Southern Methodist University.

Established by the nonprofit Texas Diversity Council in 2004, the DiversityFIRST Awards commend organizations and individuals for outstanding achievements and sustained commitment to cultural diversity and inclusion in the community and workplace.

The council recognized UT Southwestern’s diverse team of physicians, nurses, health care practitioners, and administrators. Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky, President of UT Southwestern, and his leadership team were noted for their outstanding commitment to excellence in patient care, education, and research.

“UT Southwestern is proud of its dedication to diversity awareness and inclusion. By accepting this award, we reinforce our commitment to promote cultural diversity and thereby enrich our educational and medical institution and the community we serve,” said Kimel Hodges, Assistant Vice President for Equal Opportunity and Minority Affairs at UT Southwestern.

The Texas Diversity Council comprises corporations and institutions of higher learning that are engaged in promoting diversity in the workplace and fostering environments for organizations to grow in their knowledge of diversity.


Dr. Podolsky holds the Philip O’Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration, and the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.