International/Cultural Organizations

Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association

Founded in 2002, the Asian Pacific Medical Students Association is interested in promoting enjoyment of Asian and Pacific-Islander cultural activities and foods, educational awareness of Asian and Pacific-Islander health issues in the United States as well as UT Southwestern Medical Center and the Dallas communities.

Chinese Student and Scholar Association

The goals of this organization are to provide help and entertainment to Chinese students and scholars, and to enhance connections among them. The majority of its members are Chinese students and scholars from Mainland China. However, the organization and most of the activities are open to all students. More information is available on the CSSA flyer.

Min He min.he@utsouthwestern.edu
Yang Li yang.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Global Health Interest Group (GHIG)

GHIG was founded to foster a community of students, faculty, and staff at UT Southwestern dedicated to raising awareness of global health issues. We aim is to increase accessibility, mentorship, and resources for those interested in pursuing opportunities abroad (whether in service, research or education). We also strive to generate interest among the medical school community in varied global health issues through discussion and education.

Jie Yao jie.yao@utsouthwestern.edu
Seja Abudiab seja.abudiab@utsouthwestern.edu

Islamic Medical Association (IMA)

Founded in fall 2000, the mission of IMA is to provide a forum and resources for future Muslim physicians and other health care professionals, to promote a greater awareness of Islamic medical ethics and values among Muslims and the community-at-large, to provide humanitarian and medical relief, and to be an advocate in health care policy.

Pauras Memon pauras.memon@utsouthwestern.edu
Ihsan Yassine ihsan.yassine@utsouthwestern.edu

Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA)

The Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA) at UT Southwestern is an organization that strives to unify all Latino/medical students while addressing health issues pertinent to the Hispanic population. By encouraging unity amongst our members, LMSA aims to foster a spirit of "Mi Familia" through volunteer opportunities, social outlets and assistance in the successful completion of a medical education. We also strive to unify ourselves with all student populations on campus, promoting free exchange of ideas, culture and compassion. As part of our mission statement to improve cultural diversity in the field of medicine, LMSA actively recruits Latino applicants to UT Southwestern while encouraging young minorities to pursue higher learning institutions. The Latino Medical Student Association (LMSA) at UT Southwestern is an organization that strives to unify all Latino/medical students while addressing health issues pertinent to the Hispanic population. By encouraging unity amongst our members, LMSA aims to foster a spirit of "Mi Familia" through volunteer opportunities, social outlets and assistance in the successful completion of a medical education. We also strive to unify ourselves with all student populations on campus, promoting free exchange of ideas, culture and compassion.

Andres Guerra andres.guerra@utsouthwestern.edu
Juan Sosa juan.sosa@utsouthwestern.edu

Multicultural Awareness Committee

Founded in 1999, the committee is dedicated to presenting a Multicultural Awareness Week. The program is designed to promote awareness and sensitivity of various cultures in the context of medicine and medicine education. The week is topped off with the “Celebration of Cultures” – a food and dance extravaganza.

Meghana Kashyap meghana.kashyap@utsouthwestern.edu

Society for the Advancement of Chicano/Hispanic and Native Americans in the Sciences (SACNAS)

SACNAS is a society of scientists dedicated to fostering the success of Hispanic/Chicano and Native American scientists—from college students to professionals—to attain advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in science

Andres Nevarez andres.nevarez@utsouthwestern.edu
Matthew Mendoza/span> matthew.mendoza@utsouthwestern.edu

South Asian Medical Student Association

This organization was founded in the 1999. SAMSA is a social organization formed to address issues that concern South Asians as physicians, create camaraderie amongst medical students at UT Southwestern and educate fellow colleagues of South Asian culture. Our goals are met through monthly meetings and socials, participation in school events, and volunteerism in the community.

Vishal Patel vishal.patel@utsouthwestern.edu
Prakash Gajera prakash.gajera@utsouthwestern.edu

Taiwanese Student Association (TSA)

Founded in spring 2013 as a social organization to bring people of Taiwanese origin together, TSA aims to help recruit new Taiwanese students and to help newcomers settle in Dallas. Several social events are hosted throughout the year to bring entertainment to the members and to enhance connection between individuals interested in the Taiwanese culture.

Kuan-wen Wang kuan-wen.wang@utsouthwestern.edu
Tsung-wei Ma tsung-wei.ma@utsouthwestern.edu

Turkish Student Association

Founded in fall 2003, the main objective of the TSA is to bring together individuals with interest in the Turkish culture at UT Southwestern and also provide cultural exchange and aims to organize social and cultural activities for a better understanding of the Turkish culture. TSA shall cooperate with other campus organizations to contribute to intellectual understanding and the diversity initiative. TSA seeks to assist incoming students for adaptation to lifestyle and culture in the U.S.

Alpay Burak Seven alpay.seven@utsouthwestern.edu
Gamze Bulut gamze.bulut@utsouthwestern.edu