Psychiatry Faculty

The Department of Psychiatry's work is carried out by 211 regular faculty, 170 voluntary faculty, 230 staff members, and 114 trainees. Department Chair Carol Tamminga, M.D., is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine.

Excellence in All Areas of Psychiatry

With our large faculty, we have expertise in virtually all areas pertinent to modern psychiatric practice, ranging from psychoanalysis to neurobiology to psychiatric epidemiology. This includes areas rarely found in psychiatry departments such as medical ethics, health economics, family systems studies, psychotherapy research, neurogenesis, and psychoneuroendocrinology.

We also take special joy in collaborating across interest areas, resulting in such papers as "Should psychotherapy be considered a biological treatment?"

For more information about our faculty, visit our individual Divisions. Each faculty member is listed with their respective program area.