The Department of Family and Community Medicine comprises a cohesive group of clinicians, educators, and scholars. Our physicians deliver care in two ambulatory clinics, through two inpatient hospital teams, in nursing homes, and in hospice and palliative care.

Coordinating Care

In the health care arena, the family physician serves as a patient's "quarterback" through managing day-to-day and overall care. Should the need arise, family physicians can coordinate and advocate for the services of specialists such as cardiologists, orthopaedic surgeons, dermatologists, pulmonologists, oncologists, or any type of specialist. Our faculty have daily working relationships with hundreds of specialists at UT Southwestern affiliated hospitals. Every day, we are enhancing the discipline of family medicine by training future family physicians and by finding better ways to deliver health services.

Our Mission

  • To provide excellent primary care to individuals and families.
  • To train culturally competent physicians to serve underserved populations throughout North Texas.
  • To conduct clinical and community participatory research that positively impacts patient outcomes.

Brief History

1973: Spencer Shropshire, Jr., M.D., becomes the founding chairman of the Department of Family Practice and Community Medicine.

1983: William Ross, M.D., who practiced for more than 22 years in South Texas, becomes the first chair who is a family physician. He remains in this position until his retirement in June 1993.

1990: A multisite junior clerkship is established to train more than 200 medical students per year based at affiliated residency programs and UT Tyler.

1993: Shelley Roaten, Jr., M.D., becomes the new Department Chair.

1996: UT Southwestern Family Medicine 6/6/6 residency program is established.

2001: The St. Paul Family Practice Residency Program and the UT Southwestern Family Practice Residency at Parkland merge.

2007: Alison Dobbie, M.D., becomes Department Chair.

2011: Faculty Clinic becomes Family Medicine – Primary Care

2012: Amer Shakil, M.D., is named Interim Chair.