Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards: Beth C. Levine, M.D. (Medicine, 2008)

The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas (TAMEST) recognized Beth Levine, M.D., Professor of Internal Medicine and Microbiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, in 2008 as one of the state's rising starts in research.

Dr. Levine was named a recipient of one of four Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards by the academy at its annual conference in Houston. Each year, the awards honor researchers in science, medicine, engineering and technology innovation whose work seems destined for international prominence at the highest level. Each O’Donnell Award consists of a $25,000 honorarium, a citation and an inscribed statue.

Dr. Levine received the award for medicine. Holder of the Jay P. Sanford Professorship in Infectious Diseases, she is a renowned specialist in the study of autophagy, the process by which cellular components are broken down to ensure optimal function.

The video is courtesy of The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas (TAMEST).