Jump to main content

Nominations open for fifth annual Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards


On June 20, UT Southwestern President Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D., announced the opening of nominations for the fifth annual Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards, designed to honor faculty who embody the very best in clinical and institutional excellence.

“Since 2018, we have had the honor of recognizing clinical faculty across our many sites of service for their exceptional contributions to the care of our patients, the education and training of the next generation of health care professionals, and to UT Southwestern overall,” Dr. Podolsky said in his announcement, which was co-signed by W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D., Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Dean, UT Southwestern Medical School; and John Warner, M.D., Executive Vice President for Health System Affairs and Health System CEO.

Every member of the UT Southwestern community is invited to nominate an eligible clinical faculty member for any of the awards, including the prestigious Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine.

The Watson Award, the institution’s highest honor for clinical excellence, was established in 2009 through a generous gift from Dr. and Mrs. Watson to create an annual opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care and is a leader in advancing clinical innovations.

The Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards are a great opportunity to acknowledge the expertise, commitment to innovation, and compassionate care delivered by UT Southwestern clinical faculty.

Leaders in Clinical Excellence Award categories are:

  • The Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine
  • Rising Star Award
  • Institutional Service Award
  • Mentoring Award
  • Patient and Family Recognition Award
  • Program Development Award
  • President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

Nominations will be accepted online through Wednesday, Aug. 3

Who can nominate?

  • Every member of theUT Southwestern community is invited to nominate for all seven awards.
  • For the Patient and Family Recognition Award, nominations can also be made by patients.

For more details and to make a nomination, visit the Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards website.

Back-to top