Jump to navigation Jump to main content

New annual faculty awards program recognizes 'Leaders in Clinical Excellence'

Logo of Clinical Excellence Awards

UT Southwestern this month launched a new set of awards to honor exceptional work and patient care by clinical faculty members.

“I am very pleased to announce this new annual Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards program,” said President Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky. “The strength of the UT Southwestern Health System stems from the expertise, commitment to innovation, and compassionate care delivered by our faculty and their clinical care team colleagues.”

These awards were created to honor UT Southwestern clinical faculty at any site of service who have distinguished themselves through patient-centric clinical excellence, outstanding service to our institution, and the mentoring and development of the next generation of physicians.

UT Southwestern Medical Group faculty consistently deliver exceptional care to patients and their families at William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital and Zale Lipshy University Hospital, in each of our clinics, and at our affiliated partners – Parkland Hospital, Children’s Medical Center Dallas, and the Dallas Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

In addition to recognizing the faculty members selected to receive these awards, UT Southwestern leaders hope the program will inspire all faculty and staff in the UT Southwestern Health System to continue to excel and strive for ongoing improvement in serving current and future patients and their families, as well as students and trainees.

“The Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards program was conceived and created by faculty members to recognize exceptional contributions of our clinical faculty. These annual awards will serve not only to honor those who have helped advance the Medical Center in its clinical and educational missions, but also to provide an inspiration for all of us in our service to patients.”

Awards will be presented in these six categories:

  • The President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care
  • Rising Star Award
  • Mentoring Award
  • Program Development Award
  • Institutional Service Award
  • Patient and Family Recognition Award

Nominations will be accepted online from Aug. 1 through Sept. 14. Clinical faculty are invited to nominate for all awards; Health System staff are encouraged to nominate faculty for three of the awards: The President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care; the Patient and Family Recognition Award; and the Program Development Award. Details and nomination forms can be found on the Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards website.

“Through this new awards program,” Dr. Podolsky said, “we look forward to celebrating the exceptional contributions of UT Southwestern faculty who embody the very best in clinical and institutional excellence.”

Back-to top