Jump to main content

Muir receives Exceptional Resident Award

Teale Muir, M.D.
Teale Muir, M.D.

Teale Muir, M.D., a fourth-year resident at UT Southwestern, has been nationally recognized for her expertise in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery (MIGS), receiving the Franklin D. Loffer, M.D., FACOG Exceptional Resident Award.

“I love how MIGS combines both surgical and clinical care of patients,” she said. “I am honored to take care of patients with complex gynecologic conditions, including chronic pelvic pain, endometriosis, and other pathologies that can be very debilitating and affect daily life.”

A native of Tulsa, Oklahoma, Dr. Muir said she was immediately drawn to MIGS during her obstetrics and gynecology rotation at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

The award given by the Foundation of the AAGL (the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists) recognizes leadership in the organization’s training program and a commitment to minimally invasive gynecologic surgery. Dr. Muir was nominated by Lisa Chao, M.D., a former UTSW Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

“She is action oriented, takes a deep personal responsibility, and cares for everything she touches … making sure patients, residents, and medical students alike are all well supported,” Dr. Chao said in her nomination letter.

Among Dr. Muir’s accomplishments is first authorship on a paper in the Journal of Minimally Invasive Gynecology concerning surgery on adnexal cysts, which occur in the connective tissues and organs around the uterus. She also developed a randomized controlled trial on how video coaching affects residents’ laparoscopic skills.

Dr. Muir formally received her award at the AAGL’s Global Congress on MIGS in early November in Nashville, Tennessee.

The recognition marked the second year in a row that a UTSW resident had received the Loffer Award. Last year’s winner was Emily A. Sendukas, M.D., who completed her residency at UTSW in 2023.

Back-to top