Jump to navigation Jump to main content

Kirk to receive national award from American College of Physicians

Woman with glasses and a lab coat
Dr. Lynne M. Kirk

Dr. Lynne M. Kirk, Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine and Family and Community Medicine, has been awarded the Alfred Stengel Memorial Award by the American College of Physicians (ACP), a national organization of internists.

The award will be presented at ACP’s Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, April 23, 2020, at the Los Angeles Convention Center, where ACP is hosting its annual scientific conference, Internal Medicine Meeting 2020. 

The Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians was established in 1947 in honor of the late Dr. Stengel, former Regent and President of the College. The recipient is selected based on exceptional contributions to the aims and purposes of the College, as well as the recipient’s outstanding influence in maintaining and advancing the best standards of medical education, medical practice, and clinical research.

Dr. Kirk currently serves as Chief Accreditation Officer at the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. At UT Southwestern, she served successively as Associate Dean for Medical Education, Director in the Office of Medical Education, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education, and Clinical Sciences Director.

A nationally recognized leader in medical education, she was elected to the American Medical Association’s Council on Medical Education for eight years and served as Chair for 2017-18; as a member of the Internal Medicine Residency Review Committee, serving as Chair (2011-12); and as a member of the National Advisory Panel Accelerating Change in Medical Education. Dr. Kirk was a Director of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education from 2013-2019.

Dr. Kirk served as ACP Governor of the Texas Northern Chapter (1996-2001), Chair of the Board of Governors (2001-2002), and President of the College in 2006-2007. She is an ACP delegate to the American Medical Association House of Delegates. She was elected to ACP Mastership in 2007, an honor that recognizes outstanding and extraordinary career accomplishments.

The American College of Physicians is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States with members in more than 145 countries worldwide. ACP membership includes 159,000 internal medicine physicians (internists), related subspecialists, and medical students.

Back-to top