Jump to navigation Jump to main content

Camp, dela Cruz receive Faculty Innovation in Education Awards

Camp and dela Cruz
Caption: Dr. Molly Camp (left) and Dr. Adriane dela Cruz

Associate Professor of Psychiatry Dr. Molly Camp and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry Dr. Adriane dela Cruz recently received Faculty Innovation in Education Awards from the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology Inc.

The awards support the development of academic leaders in psychiatry and neurology and are only given to two psychiatrists and two neurologists per year. UT Southwestern faculty took home both psychiatrist awards. The fellowship is for two years, with funding of $50,000 per year. 

Dr. Camp was recognized for her project in neurocognitive psychiatry education.

“I am very excited to work on this project, which will provide education for psychiatry trainees taking care of people with dementia. We know that cognitive disorders are complex conditions requiring holistic care for the patient and caregiver,” Dr. Camp said. “We are facing a huge shortage of health care providers in this area. I hope that by helping equip future generations of psychiatrists with the knowledge and skill to provide care to individuals with dementia, we can help meet this ever increasing need.”

Dr. dela Cruz will use her funding to develop a journal club podcast, “Yeah No Journal Club.”

“Faculty members and I will discuss both important findings in psychiatry and critical issues in research design and analysis. The content will be a conversation between one person with a good understanding of the literature (Yeah) and one person with less understanding (No),” Dr. dela Cruz said. “I’m so excited to have the opportunity to get to do this project, and I’m appreciative of the support of my colleagues in Psychiatry.”

Back-to top