Jump to main content

AOA Honor Medical Society welcomes 52 new members

green logo on white background

Fifty-two new members were inducted recently into the UT Southwestern Medical Center chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society (AOA). The Gamma Chapter of Texas’ Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony banquet took place March 14 at the A.W. Harris Faculty-Alumni Center. The speaker who delivered the Lyman E. Bilhartz, M.D., AOA Lecture at the event was Catherine Spong, M.D., Chair and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, who spoke on “Lessons, Observations, and Leveraging the Near to Create Opportunities.”

banquet dressed men and women pose for camera
Class of 2024 new members of the UTSW Chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society pose for a group photo at the recent induction ceremony.

Members are selected based on high academic standing, leadership among peers, professionalism, a firm sense of ethics, promise of future success in medicine, and a commitment to serve in the school and community.

Alpha Omega Alpha Class of 2024

Inductees are (asterisk denotes Junior AOA recognition):

Shanee Abouzaglo

Tyler D. Anderson*

Joanna N. Assadourian

Harini Balakrishnan

Fatemeh Behnia

Lillian R. Carter*

Keerthana D. Chakka*

Elizabeth H. DeAtkine

Kailee P. Furtado

Avery L. Hager*

Shamrez Haider

Stanton P. Heydinger*

Aaron M. Hurd

Bryce P. Johnson*

Christopher S. Joshi*

Parker R.M. Kenee

Jenny Kim

Alec R. Mason*

Cameron T. Miller

Hannah E. Miller

Zoha K. Momin

Michael N. Nemeh*

Johnston B. Norton

Giselle Peng

Nicholas E. Sevey

Omar Z. Shaikh*

Sofia A. Shirley

Shweta Sridhar

Daniel J. Tai

Lauren R. Templeton

Angela Wang*

Yuan Edward Wen

Alexa R. Wilden*

Judy J. Xue*

AOA inducted five faculty members in 2024:

Jessica Abramowitz, M.D., Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Sarah E. Baker, M.D., Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Marlene Mercedes Corton, M.D., Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Ildiko Lingvay, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.C.S., Professor of Internal Medicine and in the Peter O’Donnell Jr. School of Public Health

Anjali Nambiar, M.D., Assistant Instructor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Thirteen residents were inducted into AOA:

Haneen Abdelkhaleq, D.O.

Samir Abu-Hamad, M.D.

Christina Curtin, M.D.

Fatema Dabdoub, M.D.

Anthony Dao, M.D.

Jonathan T. Davies, M.D., M.S.

Ryan Flowers, D.O., M.A.S.

Eileen Hu, M.D.

B. Katherine Karlay, M.D.

Maliha A. Khan, M.D., M.P.H.

Shaun M. Nordeck, M.D.

Zachary Roesch, M.D.

Shan Su, M.D.


Dr. Spong holds the Paul C. MacDonald Distinguished Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Back-to top