About Us

Meet the PI

Shawn Burgess, Ph.D.

Associate Professor,
Advanced Imaging Research Center (AIRC) and Department of Pharmacology
Chief, AIRC Division of Metabolic Mechanisms of Disease

Dr. Burgess earned his Ph.D. in chemistry in 2000 at the University of Texas at Dallas where he developed magnetic resonance (MR) methods to examine the metabolism of 13C stable-isotope tracers.

He performed postdoctoral training at UT Southwestern from 2000-2003. He worked with Chris Newgard to apply 13C isotopomer analysis to metabolic mechanisms of glucose-stimulated insulin secretion in the beta cell. He also worked with Craig Malloy to develop translational MR-based stable-isotope approaches to examine liver metabolism in humans and laboratory models.

Dr. Burgess joined the faculty of UT Southwestern in 2003 and was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 2011. In 2013 he established the Division of Metabolic Mechanisms of Disease in the AIRC, which is home to a handful of faculty members who study the role of metabolism in disease, using MR, mass spectrometry, and stable isotope tracers.

Dr. Burgess’s lab uses these approaches to study how metabolic flux interacts with disease, pharmacology, or targeted genetic interventions. His work focuses on pathways of oxidative and biosynthetic metabolism in the context of obesity, insulin resistance, and diabetes. His lab demonstrated the co-regulation of gluconeogenic and oxidative functions of liver, providing a metabolic mechanism that links poorly regulated gluconeogenesis, mitochondrial function, oxidative stress, and inflammation in hepatic insulin resistance and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease. He is co-author of more than 70 research articles.

Dr. Burgess has served on study sections for the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK). He is currently a member of the NIDDK’s Integrated Physiology of Obesity and Diabetes study section and the ADA Scientific Sessions Planning Committee.

Dr. Burgess has received an ADA Junior Faculty Award (2005), ADA Basic Science Award (2009), and a Robert A. Welch Foundation Research Grant Award (2013). Dr. Burgess’ research has been funded over the last decade by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the ADA, the Robert A Welch Foundation, and various pharmaceutical research agreements.