Academic Colleges at UT Southwestern

The Academic Colleges at UT Southwestern are small learning communities that bring together gifted faculty members with small groups of students (typically six) so the students can observe and mirror the professional clinical skills, behaviors, and attitudes of a highly experienced physician. Students are assigned to one of the six Colleges on their first day of medical school and remain in that College for all four years of their education. The Colleges, named after prestigious former faculty members, add clinical experiences and a doctoring course early in the curriculum. During their first two years, students meet weekly with faculty members in their College group, and the physician-mentors stay with their students throughout their medical school education.