About Us

Lab Members

Gustavo Afanador

Gustavo Afanador, Ph.D.

Postdoctorol Fellow
Research Interest: Drug discovery and crystallography in Trypanosoma brucei
gustavo.afanador@utsouthwestern.edu


Xiaoyi Deng

Xiaoyi Deng, Ph.D.

Instructor
Research Interest: Crystallography and drug discovery in malaria
xiaoyi.deng@utsouthwestern.edu


Farah El_Mazouni

Farah El_Mazouni, M.S.

Senior Technician
Research Interest: Drug discovery in malaria
farah.el_mazouni@utsouthwestern.edu


Christopher Leija

Christopher Leija

Ph.D. Student
Research Interest: Identifying and characterizing novel drug targets inTrypanosoma brucei
christopher.leija@utsouthwestern.edu


Joan Li

Joan Li, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow
Research Interest: Identifying and characterizing novel drug targets inTrypanosoma brucei
qiong.li@utsouthwestern.edu


Suong Nguyen

Suong Nguyen

M.D./Ph.D. Student
Research Interest: Function of hypusine modification inTrypanosoma brucei
suong.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu


Jackie Njoroge

Jackie Njoroge, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow
Research Interest: Drug discovery in malaria
jacqueline.njoroge@utsouthwestern.edu


Manish Patel

Manish Patel

Ph.D. Student
Research Interest: Regulation of polyamine biosynthesis inTrypanosoma brucei
manish.patel@utsouthwestern.edu


oleg-volkov

Oleg Volkov, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow
Research Interest: Developing inhibitors of a Trypanosoma brucei polyamine biosynthetic enzymes
oleg.volkov@utsouthwestern.edu


Sophia Zhong

Sophia (Shihua) Zhong

Technician
Research Interest: Developing inhibitors of a Trypanosoma brucei polyamine biosynthetic enzymes
shihua.zhong@utsouthwestern.edu