COVID-19 Update: Information and resources can be found here.

2015 Article Archive

3,000 and counting


Since its establishment at UT Southwestern Medical Center, the Graduate School has now conferred degrees to more than 3,000 students.

500th lung transplant brings relief for cystic fibrosis patient, puts Medical Center among top 25 in U.S. to reach benchmark


With the 500th lung transplant, UT Southwestern surgeons now have performed more than 1,000 cardiothoracic transplants, which includes both heart and lung transplants.

Saluting our newest doctors


Faculty members of UT Southwestern Medical School joined family and friends of the Class of 2015 on May 27 to salute the school’s newest doctors.

Graduates participate in hooding ceremony


Members of the 2015 graduating class of UT Southwestern Medical School gathered in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium for the academic hooding ceremony, an event that now stands alone from the evening commencement ceremonies.

UT System Chancellor to keynote Medical School ceremony


William H. McRaven, who became the 11th Chancellor of the UT System in January, will deliver the commencement address when UT Southwestern Medical Center honors the 2015 graduates of the Medical School.

CPRIT awards $16.6 million for cancer research, prevention, and faculty recruitment


The May awards bring the total awarded by CPRIT to UT Southwestern for cancer research, recruitments, and prevention efforts to nearly $55 million in fiscal year 2015.

Biochemistry, Ob/Gyn leader to speak at Graduate School event


Dr. Carole Mendelson, Professor of Biochemistry, and of Obstetrics and Gynecology, will deliver the 2015 commencement address when UT Southwestern Medical Center honors graduates of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Jared Morphew – TAFP Dallas Chapter Outstanding Graduate Award


During his third year at medical school, Dr. Jared Morphew set himself up for success by not limiting his opportunity to learn.

Dr. Jennifer Nwankwo Ukwu – William F. Ross, M.D., Scholarship Award in Family Medicine


Growing up in Mesquite, Dr. Jennifer Nwankwo Ukwu learned to give back from her community. Once she started her medical education and outreach, she began to appreciate the scope of need, locally and internationally.

Dr. Tyler McDonald – Class of 2015 Leadership Award


If there’s a pattern to this constant exploration, it is Dr. McDonald’s characteristic inquisitiveness and drive to master yet another skill.