O'Donnell Award Videos

The Academy of Medicine, Engineering & Science of Texas (TAMEST) presents four Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards each year – in medicine, science, engineering, and technological innovation – to recognize Texas researchers whose work exemplifies excellence in advancing understanding of important unmet needs. Each award consists of a $25,000 honorarium, a citation, a trophy, and an invitation to speak at the conference.

The awards, first given in 2006, were named to honor two of the Lone Star State’s most generous and far-sighted supporters of medical, engineering, and scientific research and education.

TAMEST has recognized 12 faculty members since the awards’ inception. 

Most Recent O'Donnell Award Recipient

Joshua Mendell, M.D., Ph.D. (Medicine, 2016)

Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards: Joshua Mendell, M.D., Ph.D. (Medicine, 2016)
Dr. Mendell, a scientist known for his work on the role of noncoding RNAs in cancer and tissue regeneration, was honored Jan. 21, 2016, during TAMEST’s annual conference in Dallas.