About Us

About Us

Our team

Our major research focus is on dissecting the molecular mechanisms that regulate clathrin-mediated endocytosis. We are a small group of 5-6 postdoctoral fellows who bring complementary skills to bear on these studies. In the course of our work, we form transient teams to address complex problems. Our work is supported by a skilled professional staff of Master’s and Ph.D.-level researchers. Postdocs are also encouraged to develop their own projects, to write fellowships and to take advantage of the interactive and stimulating environment.  

Our Principal Investigator

Sandra Schmid, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Cell Biology
Holder of the Cecil H. Green Distinguished Chair in Cellular and Molecular Biology

Sandra Schmid, PhD

A leader among scientists, Sandra Schmid, Ph.D., was named Chair of the Department of Cell Biology in 2011. Dr. Schmid is committed to mentoring young scientists and gives career development and time management seminars to postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty nationwide. Her research focuses on clathrin-mediated endocytosis, the major pathway for uptake into the cell, with a particular emphasis on the GTPase dynamin. Dr. Schmid was co-founding editor of Traffic, Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Biology of the Cell, and is a past president of the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). Her awards include an ASCB/ WICB Junior Career Recognition Award, an NIH MERIT Award, and the William C. Rose Award from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. She is a Fellow of AAAS. Dr. Schmid earned her doctorate at Stanford University and recently earned a Master of Science in Executive Leadership at the University of San Diego. She came to UT Southwestern from The Scripps Research Institute, where she served as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cell Biology.