About Us

Meet the PI

W. Mike Henne, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Endowed Scholar (W.W. Caruth, Jr.)
Department of Cell Biology & Department of Biophysics

Dr. Henne received his B.S. in Cellular and Molecular Biology from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, and then accepted a MRC Scholarship from the UK to pursue graduate studies at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology at Cambridge University. As a student in the lab of Harvey McMahon, Ph.D., he studied how membrane sculpting BAR and F-BAR domain-containing proteins promote clathrin-mediated endocytosis. He characterized the F-BAR proteins FCHo1/2, and showed that they play crucial roles initiating clathrin vesicle biogenesis. Mike was awarded the Max Perutz Prize for his graduate work.

Following graduate school, Dr. Henne began a postdoctoral position in the laboratory of Scott Emr, Ph.D., at Cornell University as a Sam and Nancy Fleming Research Fellow. There, he continued to study endolysosomal trafficking, and how endosomes can be reshaped by the ESCRT (Endosomal Sorting Complexes Required for Transport) pathway. His work has focused on reconstituting and imaging ESCRT protein assemblies, and dissecting how they shape multi-vesicular endosomes. More recent projects involve global screens in yeast to identify novel proteins involved in endolysosomal trafficking.

Dr. Henne started his own lab at UTSW in the Fall of 2014 as a W.W. Caruth, Jr. Endowed Scholar in Biomedical Research. In his lab, Dr. Henne uses cell biology, biochemistry, structural biology, and genetics to understand molecular mechanisms governing membrane reshaping and lipid trafficking. The lab's interests exist at the interface between basic and biomedical research, with projects involving metabolism, aging, and neurological disease. Dr. Henne is the recipient of numerous grants to support his work, including funding from the Welch Foundation and American Federation of Aging Research (AFAR). In 2016, he received a Maximizing Investigators' Research Award (MIRA) from the NIH NIGMS, as well as being named a 2016 Searle Scholar

We are greatly thankful to our funding sources for their patronage: