Trainee Accomplishments

Trainee Accomplishments

Woman gesturing at poster as man reads.
Former graduate student Dr. Esra Akbay discusses her research with Professor Jerry Shay of cell biology at a poster session.

Duygu Saatcioglu

(Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

Platform presentation, TED Talk, and Travel Award for Endo (Endocrine Society Annual Meeting), 2016 (Boston, Massachusetts)
Platform presentation, Texas Forum for Reproductive Biology, 2016 (Houston, Texas)

Christopher Peña

(Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Travel Award, American Association for Cancer Research Annual Meeting, 2013 (Washington, D.C.)
Best in Show, UTSW Graduate Student Poster Day, 2014

Gina Aloisio

(MSTP and Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

PEO Scholar Award, 2015
UTSW Hamon Center for Regenerative Science and Medicine Fellowship, 2014
UTSW Green Center Fellowship, 2013
Platform presentation, Society for the Study of Reproduction Annual Meeting, 2015 (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
Platform presentation, Texas Forum for Reproductive Biology, 2015 (Houston, Texas)

Cristina Contreras

(Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

NCI F31 Predoctoral Fellowship, 2009
AACR Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Travel Award, 2009 (Washington, D.C.)

Esra Akbay

(Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

Outstanding Poster Award at the Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center Annual Scientific Retreat, UT Southwestern Medical Center, 2008
Travel award from the UT Southwestern Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center for the Texas Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Science, Frontiers of Cancer Research Meeting, 2009

Meredith Goertz

(Cancer Biology Ph.D. Program)

Platform presentation,  Gametogenesis and Embryogenesis Gordon Research Conference (Waterville Valley, New Hampshire), 2011
PEO Scholar Award, 2010
UTSW T32 Cell and Molecular Biology Training Grant, 2009-2010

Alumni (2009-present)

Man at lab bench with microscope
Former graduate student Dr. Michael Baker at the microscope.

Esra A. Akbay (Dana Farber Cancer Institute/Harvard Medical School)
Gina Aloisio (Boston Children's Hospital/Harvard Medical School)
Michael Baker (IVF Florida Reproductive Associates)
Ashley Childress (Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine)
Cristina M. Contreras (UNC/Lineberger Cancer Center)
Jeremy Cortez (Princeton University Graduate School)
Max Ezzati, M.D. (Sutter Health/Palo Alto Medical Foundation)
Alejandra Gallegos (UT El Paso)
Meredith Goertz (WiserTogether, Inc.)
John Marshall Haynie (LSU Health Science Center Medical School)
George John, Ph.D. (UT Southwestern Department of Pathology)
Mahdi Kaheri (University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth)
Carissa Lumby (UT Austin)
Mabo Imoisilli (Columbia University School of Medicine)
Qingyun Mai, M.D. (Sun Yat-Sen University, Guangzhou)
Jose Michel (UT Medical Branch at Galveston Medical School)
Yuji Nakada (UT Southwestern)
Christopher Peña (UT Health Science Center at San Antonio)
Duygu Saatcioglu (Massachusetts General Hospital)
Marc Salhanick (UT Health Science Center at San Antonio Medical School)
Lane Shirley (UNM Children's Hospital Pediatrics Residency)
Tamara Strauss (UT Southwestern)
Edward Tarnawa, M.D. (Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas)
Shana Wingo, M.D. (Arizona Oncology)
Zhuoru Wu, Ph.D. (Tulane University)