UT Southwestern Medical Center

Watson Award Announcement

July 14, 2010

To the UT Southwestern Community:

I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Claus Roehrborn has been selected to be this year's recipient of the Patricia and William L. Watson, Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine. In making their generous gift to establish this annual award, which was inaugurated last year, Dr. and Mrs. Watson wished to create an opportunity for the UT Southwestern community to recognize a physician on the faculty who has had a profound impact through "hands on" clinical care. The recipient is expected to embody innovation in clinical care and to be a "physician's physician."

Dr. Roehrborn is widely regarded as a consummate clinician. He is known for treating patients with respect, kindness, and the highest levels of professionalism. He is legendary for his unfailing responsiveness to patients and colleagues, and he is the physician of choice for many physicians who are recommending a doctor to patients in need of urological care or who need such care themselves.

Dr. Roehrborn attended medical school and began his medical training in Giessen, Germany and came to Dallas in 1984, to continue his urology training at UT Southwestern. After finishing his residency, he won a postdoctoral scholarship from the American Foundation for Urological Diseases (AFUD) and worked on androgen regulation of prostate development and growth. He became a member of the UT Southwestern faculty in 1992 and is currently Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology, holding the E. E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology.

His practice focuses on the treatment of prostate cancer and benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), and he is a leading national expert in robotic therapy. He has frequently been named to "best doctor" lists for Dallas and nationally within Urology. He is also internationally known for his research in the areas of benign and malignant prostate diseases, including his innovative work on medical and minimally invasive therapies for BPH and markers for prostate cancer. Bringing together his research and clinical expertise, he has played a significant leadership role in national and international groups setting guidelines for BPH diagnosis and treatment.

As we began last year, the Watson Award will be presented in the fall, in conjunction with a special campus lecture featuring an eminent clinical leader. This year's award presentation and lecture will be on Tuesday, November 9, 2010, at 4:00 p.m. in the D1.600 lecture hall, with a reception immediately following.

The speaker will be Glenn Steele, M.D., Ph.D., the President and Chief Executive Officer of Geisinger Health System in Pennsylvania. Dr. Steele has a distinguished background as an academic medical leader at the University of Chicago, as a Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School and Chairman of the Department of Surgery at New England Deaconess Hospital in Boston, and as a past Chairman of the American Board of Surgery. Under his leadership, Geisinger, a physician-led healthcare system, has become a national leader for its innovative approaches to health care delivery emphasizing quality, cost, access, and the advancement of care through education and research.

I wish to thank Dr. Willis Maddrey for chairing the Watson Award Selection Committee and the faculty who served as members. It was gratifying to all of us involved in this process to have so many deserving candidates nominated by colleagues throughout the Medical Center.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Roehrborn, and I hope you will plan to attend the November 9th event.

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D. President UT Southwestern Medical Center