COVID-19 Update: Information and resources can be found here.

School of Health Professions Catalog

In 1968, Dr. Charles C. Sprague, then Dean of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, initiated the planning for a new School of Allied Health Professions in Dallas. Dr. Richard D. Burk, Chairman of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, was named the first Dean of the school in February 1969. Under his leadership and with the assistance of Associate Dean Harry J. Parker, students were first enrolled in baccalaureate programs for the 1970-71 academic year in Medical Technology, Physical Therapy, and Rehabilitation Science, and in a post-baccalaureate Dietetic Internship.

Dr. John W. Schermerhorn was the first Dean of the School, appointed in August 1971. He was succeeded by Dr. William J. Gonyea in 1985. In 1988, Dr. Vernie A. Stembridge assumed duties as interim Dean. Dr. Gordon Green was appointed Dean in January 1991. In 2006, Dr. Raul Caetano became Dean and served until 2014. Dr. Jon Williamson was appointed Dean of the School in October 2015 after serving as interim Dean for nine months.

The School originally was housed in Methodist Hospital’s School of Nursing facilities. From 1973 until 1983, it occupied facilities at 6003 Maple Ave. In 1983, the School relocated to the Locke Building, 6011 Harry Hines Blvd. The building subsequently was remodeled and renamed The University of Texas Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Building (now the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions Building). In 2008, the School was renamed the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions. Permanent facilities in the building include classrooms, clinics, laboratories, and administrative offices for most Departments of the School promoting a highly collaborative and interprofessional environment.


Institutional accreditation for The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is contained within the “General” section of the catalog.

Education Program Accreditations

The Doctor of Applied Clinical Research Program is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools-Commissions on Colleges (SACS-COC).

The Master of Clinical Nutrition Coordinated Program is granted accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

The Master of Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling Program is accredited as a Rehabilitation Counseling Entry-Level Specialty Area by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs.

The Doctor of Physical Therapy Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.

The Master of Physician Assistant Studies Program is accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant.

The Master of Prosthetics-Orthotics Program is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs upon the recommendation of the National Commission on Prosthetic & Orthotic Education.

The Master of Radiation Therapy Program is accredited by the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology.