Graduate School Catalog

The advancement of medical knowledge depends on the training of intellectually stimulated, innovative scientists who will serve as leaders of biomedical research in the future. The goal of UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences is to give outstanding students the opportunity and the encouragement to investigate rigorously and to solve significant problems creatively in the biological, physical, and behavioral sciences.

To attain excellence in science, today’s graduate students also must master the art of communication; therefore, students in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences have many opportunities to express their ideas orally and in writing to others within the scientific community.

The Graduate School has two Divisions: Basic Science and Clinical Science. These Divisions include the following specific areas of graduate studies: Biological Chemistry; Biomedical Engineering; Cancer Biology; Cell and Molecular Biology; Clinical Psychology; Clinical Sciences; Genetics, Development and Disease; Immunology; Integrative Molecular and Biomedical Sciences; Molecular Biophysics; Molecular Microbiology; Neuroscience; and Organic Chemistry. The Graduate School is continually developing new Programs, described on the Graduate School website.

Although enrolled in a specific Program area, a graduate student is not restricted to courses in that area. Exposure to a wide variety of academic disciplines is necessary to prepare the student for rapidly changing emphases in biomedical sciences. Graduate students at the medical center gain a wide perspective of contemporary biomedical science through interdisciplinary courses, seminars, and informal discussions involving students and faculty from all three component schools – UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, UT Southwestern Medical School, and UT Southwestern School of Health Professions.

The opportunity for graduate students and postdoctoral scholars to obtain advanced training in the laboratories of faculty members doing cutting-edge research fosters an ability to make significant contributions to the advancement of our understanding of the basis of disease processes that are the targets of contemporary medical research.

UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

The members of the Graduate School faculty are also members of the faculty of either UT Southwestern Medical School or UT Southwestern School of Health Professions. The major portion of research for graduate degrees is performed in the laboratories of these faculty members.

As it has matured into a separate entity of academic distinction, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences has benefited from the talents of the basic-science faculty of the Medical School, noted for its innovative contributions to research and teaching methods. Twenty-five faculty members have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences, and six have won the Nobel Prize since 1985. These and their fellow faculty members, while internationally recognized leaders in their fields of study, foster a uniquely close-knit research environment on a campus noted for its congeniality and collaborations. As UT Southwestern continues to grow, talented new faculty members are recruited to keep the Medical Center at the forefront of biomedical research.

Many faculty members are serving currently or have served recently as heads of national professional societies, as editorial board members of major scientific publications, and as members of study sections and scientific review panels under the auspices of the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and other disease-focused nonprofit organizations.

Throughout their course of advanced instruction, students and postdoctoral scholars in the Graduate School remain in close contact with faculty members and enjoy the highly interactive atmosphere promoted by faculty at all ranks. Courses of study are designed to develop individual abilities in an atmosphere encouraging maximal intellectual interchange between students and mentors.

Graduates of UT Southwestern have obtained postdoctoral fellowships at institutions such as Harvard University, Rockefeller University, Johns Hopkins University, Yale University, University of California San Francisco, Washington University, and the Salk Institute and have gone on to faculty positions at Harvard University, Duke University, University of Pittsburgh, University of Pennsylvania, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and UT Southwestern. Others play key roles in scientific administration and/or research at pharmaceutical corporations and private industry leaders. Two UT Southwestern alumni have been awarded a Nobel Prize (Joseph Goldstein, M.D., Medical School, 1966; and Linda Buck, Ph.D., Graduate School, 1980).


Institutional accreditation for The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is contained within the “General” section of the catalog. Graduate School Programs with specific accreditations also may be cited within the Program sections.

Academic Administration

W. P. Andrew Lee, M.D.
Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Charles M. Ginsburg, M.D.
Vice Provost and Senior Associate Dean for Education

Andrew Zinn, M.D., Ph.D.
Graduate School Dean

Stuart E. Ravnik, Ph.D.
Associate Dean

Nancy E. Street, Ph.D.
Associate Dean

Deirdre Brekken, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean

Lisa Gardner, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean

Natalie Lundsteen, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean

Christine Weirich, Ph.D.
Fellowship Coordinator