Tuition & Fees

The 2019-20 Tuition and Fee Schedule is available on UT Southwestern’s Financial Aid website.

All fees are subject to change without prior publication and become effective when enacted. The Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The following student fees are authorized by the state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the University administration and the UT System Board of Regents.

UT Southwestern expects individual students and student organizations to responsibly discharge their financial and contractual obligations, as outlined in its Student Debts Policy.

In-State and Out-of-State Residency Classifications

Under state statutes and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board rules and regulations interpreting those statutes, a prospective student is classified as a resident of Texas, a nonresident, or a foreign student. A person who has resided in the state under circumstances specified in these rules is eligible for classification as a resident. A non-U.S. citizen, a foreign national, or a permanent resident of the United States not eligible to be classified as a resident of Texas is classified as a nonresident. A non-U.S. citizen who is not a permanent resident of the United States and has not been permitted by Congress to adopt the United States as a domicile while in this country is classified as a foreign student. An individual classified as a nonresident may qualify, under certain exceptions specified in these rules, for resident tuition rates and other charges while continuing to be classified as a nonresident.

The student is responsible for registering under the proper residence classification. If there is any question about the student’s right to classification as a resident of Texas, it is the student’s obligation to consult the Office of Enrollment Services and have his or her status officially determined. The applicable statutory provisions are set forth in section 54, Texas Education Code. Rules and regulations and interpretations have been issued by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board for the effective and uniform administration of these provisions.

Students must file a Core Residency Questionnaire for classification as a resident of Texas. If the student’s classification as a resident of Texas becomes inappropriate for any reason, the student must notify the proper administrative official at the medical center. Information and advice regarding residency status are available from the Office of Enrollment Services.

Texas statutes provide that a certain number of nonresident students may be permitted to pay the same tuition and fees as a Texas resident if the student holds a competitive scholarship worth at least $1,000 per year. However, not all out-of-state scholarship recipients will be granted the in-state tuition rate, as state law sets a maximum percentage of students who may receive this benefit.

Back to Top

Fees Applicable to all UT Southwestern Students

Application Filing Fee: Application fees are outlined in the admissions section for each School.

Audit Course Fee: Current UT Southwestern students incur a $5 fee per course enrollment. Non-UT Southwestern students are charged $25 per course enrollment.

Graduation Fee: Graduation fees of $120, payable at registration for the final semester, are required of all students who will receive a degree. Students who withdraw before graduation are entitled to a refund of the graduation fee. This fee is assessed regardless of whether or not a student participates in graduation ceremonies.

In Absentia Registration Fee: Students enrolled in other degree and certificate programs registering in absentia incur a $12 per enrollment term if they are a Texas resident and a $50 per enrollment term for non-residents.

Medical Services Fee: Medical Students in their first, second, and third years, Graduate School students, and School of Health Professions students pay a medical services fee of $225 per academic year. Students enrolled in the fourth year of Medical School pay a medical services fee of $150. The Medical Services Fee is used for Student Health Services.

Returned Check Fee: A fee of $30 will be charged on any check cashed by and returned to the university. If two or more checks are returned, a student’s check-cashing privileges will be suspended for one year.

Student Services Fee: Medical School students in their first, second, and third curricular years pay $750 annually and $500 in their fourth curricular year of enrollment. Graduate School students pay $42 per semester hour enrolled, with a maximum of $250 per term and $750 annually. School of Health Professions students pay $40 per semester hour enrolled, with a maximum of $750 annually. The student services fee is used to support Student Health Services; the Bryan Williams, M.D. Student Center; and other student services.

Back to Top

Incidental Fees

UT Southwestern identification badges may be replaced for a replacement fee of $10.

Lab carrel keys can be replaced for a replacement fee of $35.

The Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center recovers the cost of some services, such as black and white photocopying and laser printing, at 10 cents per page and color laser printing at $1 per page. Charges for other cost-recovery-based services vary. These and other manuscripts can be archived for $13 per volume. Dissertations can be published and archived for $85 per volume with an optional copyright fee of $50. Thesis archiving is $15. There is no charge for literature searching or routine processing of interlibrary loan requests made by students; however, there is a fee for expedited interlibrary loan delivery.

Back to Top

Campus Parking

Limited parking facilities are available on campus. Students wishing to park on campus are required to register their vehicle and obtain a permit and pay an annual parking registration fee. The fee for students is $120 for 2019-2020. Student parking is restricted to designated areas, and violations of the parking regulations may result in fines and/or loss of parking privileges.

Special parking permits are available for individuals with disabilities. Individuals in need of handicapped parking should contact the Office of Parking Services and will be required to provide appropriate supporting documentation.

Non-resident students should be aware that Texas law requires motor vehicles not registered in this state to satisfy the state requirements for vehicle emission inspections. Owners of vehicles who reside in Texas but fail to timely register the vehicle in Texas or fail to display a current inspection certificate may be in violation of Texas law.

Back to Top

Tuition Installment Payments

Students may elect to pay tuition and certain fees in installment payments (not applicable to the summer term). At the time of registration, students wishing to participate in the installment payment option will be required to sign a promissory note and a truth-in-lending form. These documents will specify the terms and conditions of the payment plan. Students will incur a $25 charge when participating in the plan. A $10 late fee will be charged for each payment not received by the due date.

The Office of Accounting may send notices as reminders of payment due dates; however, students are obligated to pay on or before the due date regardless of the receipt of a reminder notice. A student who fails to pay tuition and fees in full, including any late fees assessed, to the university when the payments are due is subject to all penalties and actions authorized by law, including, but not limited to: 1) bar against admission at the institution; 2) withholding of diploma or official transcript; or 3) inability to participate in graduation ceremony.

Back to Top

Refund of Tuition and Fees

No refund will be made until the expiration of 12 class days after the beginning of classes. A matriculation fee may be deducted from the refund to students who withdraw. Students may appeal a refund within one year after official withdrawal.

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and School of Health Professions

Fall and Spring Refund of Tuition and Fees

Only Graduate School students who personally paid tuition are eligible for a direct refund. Students whose tuition is paid by a sponsor, donor, or scholarship will not personally receive a refund, and the tuition will be refunded to the source.

Eligible students in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the School of Health Professions who officially withdraw from UT Southwestern will receive a refund of a percentage of tuition and refundable fees based on the schedule below.

  • Prior to the first class day – 100 percent
  • The first five class days – 80 percent
  • The second five class days – 70 percent
  • The third five class days – 50 percent
  • The fourth five class days – 25 percent
  • Thereafter – no refund

Refund procedures are the same for summer, fall, and spring semesters.

Medical School

Medical School students, including Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) students enrolled full-time in Medical School coursework, who withdraw in the fall or spring of the academic year will receive refund of tuition and fees based upon the schedule below:

  • Prior to the first class day – 100 percent
  • The first five class days – 80 percent
  • The second five class days – 70 percent
  • The third five class days – 50 percent
  • The fourth five class days – 25 percent
  • Thereafter – no refund

In addition, Medical School students who withdraw in the fall will receive a 100 percent refund of tuition and fees for the second half of the year (spring).

Back to Top

Return of Title IV Funds

A student attending UT Southwestern who has received student financial aid and who officially withdraws, takes an approved leave of absence, or is dismissed may be liable to return all or a portion of any aid received if the student’s separation (withdrawal, leave, or dismissal) occurs after a term has begun and before completion of the academic term. The Office of Student Financial Aid will utilize approved federal formulas to determine the amount of applicable financial aid as of the separation date. Financial aid funds that must be returned by the separating student will be designated to the appropriate financial aid program in accordance with federal regulations.

A student’s separation date is the date the student begins the withdrawal process or officially notifies UT Southwestern of an intent to withdraw; or the student’s last date of attendance at a documented, academically related activity.

If UT Southwestern is required to return any funds to one or more financial aid programs on the student’s behalf as a result of the student’s withdrawal, leave of absence or dismissal within a term, the student will be billed accordingly for all amounts returned on the student’s behalf.

Back to Top