The UT Southwestern Peter O'Donnell Jr. School of Public Health is the fourth school to be created in the UT Southwestern Medical Center, and the first in the past half-century. It joins the Schools of Medicine, Health Professions, and Biomedical Sciences. UT Southwestern, one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation, integrates pioneering research with exceptional health promotion, clinical care, and education. This public university is home to nearly 3,000 faculty members, many of whom are leaders in their respective fields, including six Nobel laureates, 25 members of the National Academy of Sciences, and 17 members of the National Academy of Medicine. Annual research funding at the university exceeds $500 million per year.

Nearly 4,000 medical, graduate, health professions students, residents and postgraduate fellows study and train at UT Southwestern. The Peter O'Donnell Jr. School of Public Health has access to several very large health care systems across North Texas, including William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, Children's Healthâ„ , Texas Health Resources, Parkland Health & Hospital System, Scottish Rite for Children, and the Veterans Administration North Texas Health System.

The school is located within the 13-county Dallas-Fort Worth area that has a census of 7.8 million and is the fastest-growing region in the country, with a projected population of 9.3 million by 2030. The School will employ the public health methodologies of epidemiology, health policy, quantitative and data science, health systems science, health behavior, and dissemination and implementation science to identify and address the public health challenges of this diverse, majority-minority population (41% Hispanic, 16% African American).

The School of Public Health upholds the wider UT Southwestern institutional mission of promoting health and a healthy society that enables achievement of full human potential, with a deep commitment to the core values of excellence, innovation, teamwork, and compassion.