Nuclear Medicine

Why UT Southwestern

Abdominal Images

UT Southwestern Medical Center is one of the premier academic medical centers in the nation, with a distinguished faculty that has received six Nobel prizes, and that includes 22 members of the National Academy of Sciences, 17 members of the National Academy of Medicine, and 15 Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators. UT Southwestern is the No. 1 hospital in Dallas-Fort Worth, second in Texas, and among the top 50 programs nationally in six clinical specialty areas, according to U.S. News & World Report.

The Nuclear Medicine Residency program, established in 1986, is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). This residency program prepares trainees for certification by the American Board of Nuclear Medicine and the Nuclear Radiology CAQ (certified added qualification) of the American Board of Radiology.

Four residency positions are available and consist of a one-year program for residents who have completed diagnostic radiology residency training, a two-year program for residents who have completed internal medicine residency training, and a three-year program for those who have completed an ACGME-accredited preliminary year without prior residency training.

The program is based at Parkland Health & Hospital System, with additional clinical service at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Clements University Hospital, the PET Center at Clements Advanced Imaging Center, and Children’s Health℠, providing 13 rotations a year.

Program Highlights 
Facilities and Equipment 
Research Opportunities 
How to Apply