About UT Southwestern

Our more than 16,000 faculty and staff provides training to approximately 3,600 medical, graduate, and health profession students, residents, and postdoctoral scholars each year; cares for more than 100,000 hospitalized and 600,000 emergency room patients; and oversees approximately 2.2 million outpatient visits annually.

Our passion for excellence is renowned and reflected through continual support from federal agencies, private foundations, individuals, and corporations, which provide more than $424 million per year to fund over 3,500 research projects.

Our faculty members, who are responsible for an array of groundbreaking biomedical research advances, are respected for their dedication to teaching, training, and patient care. Among them:

  • Six have been awarded Nobel Prizes since 1985
  • 22 members are part of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) – one of the highest honors attainable by an American scientist
  • 16 members of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine), a component of the NAS
  • Many are members of the Association of American Physicians and the American Society of Clinical Investigation

Learn more about UT Southwestern.