COVID-19 Update: Information and resources can be found here.

Radiation Oncology Medical Residency


The Department of Radiation Oncology at UT Southwestern Medical Center is a unique setting for residents to gain expertise in radiation oncology and related disciplines at a leading NCI-designated comprehensive cancer center. Throughout the Radiation Oncology Residency program, our residents work with leading experts where they have access to some of the most advanced technology and research facilities in the world.


Our Department offers residents broad exposure to various disease sites with an array of technologies and we are nationally known for our work in hypofractionation and stereotactic body radiation. We have a GammaPod system, one of only two in the country; the Leksell Gamma Knife Icon, capable of both framed and frameless stereotactic radiosurgery; and CyberKnife systems. Residents also participate in brachytherapy procedures in the clinic and OR—including gynecologic, prostate, skin, sarcoma, and other sitesand intraoperative radiation therapy procedures in our shielded operating room, and have access to multiple technical training courses where they can get certified in the associated technologies (such as Gamma Knife, SBRT, SpaceOAR)—many of which are unique to UT Southwestern. Learn more about our technology.

In 2019, we broke ground on a 71,000-square-foot expansion adjacent to our current building that will include two Elekta Unity MR-LINACs, two Varian Halcyon units, and two Varian Ethos units. Our new building is slated to open in fall 2021.

Our goal is to provide the best and most comprehensive clinical training in a department that recognizes the critical need for research—both basic and clinical—to advance our field and oncology in general. Our team is committed to learning and superior patient care, and we consistently attract top-achieving applicants who share those same principles. We thank you for your interest and hope you’ll consider our program!

Drs. Kumar, Choy and Folkert
Dr. Kiran Kumar, Assistant Professor and Associate Director of Medical Residency Program; Dr. Hak Choy, Chairman, and Dr. Michael Folkert, Assistant Professor and Director of Medical Residency Program