Postdoctoral Medical Physics Certificate Program

Certification in Medical Physics is one of only two non-physician specialties offered by the American Board of Medical Specialties ( ABMS).

The American Board of Radiology (ABR), a board member of ABMS, grants Medical Physics Certifications. Completion of the Medical Physics Certificate Program is a prerequisite for the ABR certification.

The organization that accredits medical physics residency programs is the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Educational Programs (CAMPEP).

The Department of Radiation Oncology at UTSW currently has a three-year CAMPEP-accredited Medical Physics Residency Program, admitting two residents per year.

CAMPEP has didactic course prerequisites for entry into a CAMPEP-accredited Medical Physics Residency Program:

  • Radiological Physics and Dosimetry
  • Radiation Protection and Radiation Safety
  • Fundamentals of Imaging in Medicine
  • Radiobiology
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Radiation Therapy Physics

The Department of Radiation Oncology offers four of these courses as elective courses within the UTSW Postdoctoral Certificate Program. These four courses are: Radiological Physics and Dosimetry, Radiation Protection and Radiation Safety, Fundamentals of Imaging in Medicine, and Radiation Therapy Physics. We are currently seeking accreditation by CAMPEP for the offered courses. Jing Wang, Ph.D. directs the Certificate Program.

Department faculty members, including 15 medical physicists, teach individual topics related to their expertise.

Each semester we offer one three-credit-hour course. The material conforms to the curriculum of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine to cover essential medical physics didactic elements for individuals entering the medical physics profession, through an alternative pathway as published in AAPM report number 197.