Pathology Chemistry Fellows, Hana Vakili and William Phipps take top awards at the TX-Section AACC Conference in Austin

Dr. Shelby Melton
From left to right: Carmen Wiley, PhD,(AACC President), Emily Garnett, PhD (Clin Chem Fellow, Baylor College of Medicine), William S Phipps, MD, (Pathology Resident, UTSW), and Hana K Vakili, PhD (Clin Chem Fellow, UTSW)


At the recent TX-Section American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC) conference held in Austin, Hana Vakili and William Phipps were awarded First and Second place (respectively) for Best Abstract Award (Oral Presentation). Hana presented on: “Comparison of LDL-C reference intervals using direct and calculated methods in a pediatric cohort” while Bill presented on: “Comprehensive urine drug screening in a pediatric hospital using liquid chromatography hybrid quadrupole time of flight mass spectrometry”. The awards were presented by Carmen Wiley, PhD AACC President. Hana also presented a poster on: “Is there a need to assess 25-OH vitamin D2 and D3 levels by LC/MSMS in neonates?.” Dr Alagar Muthukumar, Assistant Professor of Pathology and Director of Chemistry at Clements University Hospital presented a talk on: “Barriers in the workflow of high sensitivity cardiac troponin assay testing that can impact early diagnosis of acute myocardial infarction in ED setting.”