Timothy Richardson, D.O., Ph.D., and Amanda Strickland, M.D., Receive Texas Society of Pathologists Educational Foundation Scholarships

Dr. Timothy Richardson Photo
Dr. Timothy Richardson
Dr. Amanda Strickland Photo
Dr. Amanda Strickland

Congratulations to UT Southwestern Medical trainees Timothy Richardson, D.O., PhD (PGY-4 in the Anatomic Pathology/Neuropathology program) and Amanda Strickland, M.D. (PGY-3 in the Anatomic and Clinical Pathology program) for being recipients of this year’s Texas Society of Pathologists Educational Foundation Scholarships. The scholarships help Texas pathology trainees to further their education and research in the field of pathology. This year’s scholarship was awarded to six medical trainees with UT Southwestern being the only institution with two awardees.

The Texas Society of Pathologists (TSP) is the oldest and largest state pathology society in the nation. Founded in 1921, this society serves over 700 practicing pathologists and trainees across the state of Texas. In 1997, the TSP established the John R. Rainey, Jr., MD, Educational Foundation to promote education and research in pathology. Each year, the Foundation provides scholarships to support the endeavors of residents, fellows, and medical students interested in the field of pathology. In addition, the Foundation supports the residents/fellows' platform and poster competition held during the annual TSP meeting.