Pathology residents receive awards at ASFA annual meeting

The American Society for Apheresis (ASFA) held its 33rd annual meeting from April 11-14 in Atlanta.

At this meeting Neil Shah, M.D., received the Junior Investigator Award for the second year in a row for his work comparing lymphomononuclear yield on two Photopheresis devices. Nicole De Simone, M.D., also received the best poster award in "therapeutic apheresis category" for her work on plasma exchange in neuromyelitis optica.

Ravi Sarode, M.D., chaired the organizing committee for the annual meeting as well as for the consensus conference on Thrombotic Thrombocytopenic Purpura, where the world's leading experts deliberated for one day. Dr. Sarode was nominated to be the society's president for 2012-2013.