Administrative structure, leadership changes

James Malter, M.D., Chair of the Department of Pathology, announces these changes:

Jyoti Balani, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology, has agreed to assume the duties of the Departmental Quality Officer. In this role, she will facilitate QA/QI efforts both internally as well as with other departments. I would like to thank the many volunteers who offered to participate.

Jose Torrealba, M.D., Associate Profesor of Pathology, has assumed Medical Directorship of the Histology and IHC laboratories. I would like to thank Charles White, M.D., Professor of Pathology, for his many years of service to this critical lab. This change will free up time for expanding his academic activities.

Ibrahim Hashim, Ph.D., Professor of Pathology, has agreed to become the Chief of Clinical Pathology. He will be working closely with our hospitals and CP faculty to ensure strong clinical practice, high quality and robust academic activity, and the implementation of new testing technologies.

Rene Galindo, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology, has accepted the post of Associate Dean for Medical Student Research here at UTSW. Dr. Galindo will oversee the placement of medical students into research environments. I hope that many students will find significant experiences within our Department. Those faculty interested in participating should contact Dr. Galindo.

Dennis Burns, M.D., Professor of Pathology, has agreed to chair the School of Medicine Admissions Committee. This critical role will unavoidably necessitate Dr. Burn's recusing himself from his Departmental P&T Chairmanship. In his stead, Charles Timmons, M.D., Ph.D. and Makoto Kuro-o, M.D., Ph.D. have agreed to co-chair our P&T Committee.