## **Galindo Named Distinguished Alumni**

At its annual spring retreat, Rene Galindo, M.D., Ph.D., was awarded the 2023 Jean D. Wilson Distinguished Alumnus by the Perot Family Scholars Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP).

Dr. Galindo's research career began with a focus on Rhabdomyosarcoma. However, with his underlying interest in education and using committee work to springboard this passion, his attention concentrated on the research of medical students, helping them develop their interests and become paired with appropriate mentors. Due to his success in this arena, Dr. Galindo has been named as the Associate Dean of Medical Student Research and the new Associate Director for Curriculum for the Perot Family Scholars MSTP.

The distinguished alumnus award was named in honor of Dr. Jean Wilson, the first director of the Medical Scientist Training Program, an international known endocrinologist who scientific discoveries lead to profound insights into the mechanisms



underlying sexual differentiation and led to now widely used treatments for prostate disease. Dr. Wilson was Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine at UTSW until his death in 2021.

The Perot Family Scholars Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) at UT Southwestern offers a combined M.D./Ph.D. degree from UT Southwestern Medical School and UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in an academically rigorous yet supportive environment. The Program has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health since 1982 and receives support from the Perot Family Scholars Program Fund endowment. Nearly all our graduates pursue clinical residencies and fellowships in diverse specialties and subspecialties. Many alumni hold prominent positions in academia, industry, and nonprofit organizations.