Endowments & Development

The Department of Ophthalmology is grateful for the following endowments:

Research Chairs Lectureships
Professorships Center  


  • Shirley G. and Norman Alweis Endowment Fund for Vision
  • Lillian and James Cain Endowment in Vision Loss
  • Dr. George E. Holladay Ophthalmology Library Fund Honoring Dr. John Lynn
  • Maurice Jameson Fund for Research of Macular Degeneration
  • Anne Marie and Thomas B. Walker Jr. Fund for Research on Macular Degeneration of the Retina


  • The David Bruton, Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology – J. William Harbour, M.D. 
  • Dr. W. Maxwell Thomas Chair in Ophthalmology – W. Matthew Petroll, Ph.D.
  • Jean and Tom Walter Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology, in Honor of James P. McCulley, M.D. – Judy E. Kim, M.D.
  • Josephine Long Biddle Chair in Age-Related Macular Degeneration Research – Yu-Guang He, M.D.
  • Royal C. Miller Chair in Age-Related Macular Degeneration Research – TBD 


  • Carol F. Zimmerman, M.D. Lectureship in Neuro-Ophthalmology
  • John R. Lynn, M.D. Lecture Series in Ophthalmology (Glaucoma)
  • Seymour Gostin Endowment Fund for Lectures in Ophthalmology
  • Corneal Disease and Transplantation Lectureship, in Honor of H. Dwight Cavanagh, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Winslow Family Retina Lectureship


  • Irene Wadel and Robert I. Atha, Jr. Professorship in Ophthalmology, in Honor of R. Wayne Bowman, M.D. – R. Wayne Bowman, M.D.
  • Zora Meagher Macular Degeneration Research Professorship – Yu-Guang He, M.D.
  • Paul T. Stoffel/Centex Professorship in Clinical Care – V. Vinod Mootha, M.D. 


  • Jean H. & John T. Walter Jr. Center for Research in Age-Related Macular Degeneration