Ob/Gyn Residents and Alumni

Our current residents in Obstetrics and Gynecology join alumni that include former chairmen, Drs. Paul MacDonald and Norman Gant, as well as Steven Bloom, M.D., and many of the Department’s current faculty.

The Residency Program in Obstetrics and Gynecology had its beginnings under the first chair, William F. Mengert, M.D., (1943–1955), and received full approval in 1947. But it wasn’t until 1957 that the first woman, Peggy J. Whalley, M.D., entered the Residency Program.

In 1955, Jack A. Pritchard, M.D., succeeded Dr. Mengert as Chair. He’d had first-hand experience in the way obstetrics and gynecology was practiced by Dr. Mengert’s generation.

I became disenchanted fairly quickly with Ob/Gyn as it was practiced [in 1946]. Science was lacking to say the least. 
— Jack Arthur Pritchard, M.D.

But this disenchantment dissolved several years later during Dr. Pritchard’s residency at Case Western Reserve, when he began investigating the hematological changes associated with eclampsia. Science met obstetrics and gynecology.

And with Dr. Pritchard’s introduction of the concept of evidence-based medicine to the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, the Ob/Gyn Residency Program was transformed from a clinical training program into one that included investigative research into clinical outcomes.

Today’s Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program traces its roots to these humble beginnings under the leadership of Dr. Pritchard (Chair 1955–1970).