Neuroscience Working Group on Diversity and Inclusion


This working group was established in 2020 in response to sustained racist events in our country. Our goal is to advise on how to foster a safe, equitable, and inclusive working environment for the entire Neuroscience community. We welcome input from all members of our community including research staff, administration, students, postdocs, and faculty.

View the Neuroscience faculty diversity statements.

Immediate Goals

  • Help members of the Neuroscience community navigate the UTSW reporting system for acts of racial and other forms of discrimination.
  • Advocate for a single independent office for race-based discrimination reporting and ample resources to support this office.
  • Align our mission with other groups on campus such as The Association for African American Scientists (TAAAS), Society for the Advancement of Chicano/Hispanic and Native Americans in Sciences (SACNAS), Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (oSTEM), and others.
  • Establish clear guidelines for implicit bias training, specifically useful for the Neuroscience community, which complement any institutional requirements.
  • Improve mentor training via ongoing RCR-like workshops and publicly accessible diversity statements.
  • Initiate and support programs to improve recruitment and retention of Graduate Students, Postdocs, and Faculty from groups underrepresented in science.

Long-term Goals

  • Eliminate microaggressions within our community.
  • Educate the community on issues of racism.
  • Increase diversity among all levels of our community.

Contact Us

We encourage members of the community to reach out to us with questions and/or suggestions. We are required to report to the administration any acts of discrimination reported to us that involve illegal behavior, but we are not required to report on microaggressions. We view some of our most important roles as helping you understand the reporting system at UTSW and advocating for members of the community at their request. You may contact us through the group email address above or individually.


  • Danyal Alam, Student
  • Maria Chahrour, Ph.D., Faculty
  • Daisuke Hattori, Ph.D., Faculty
  • Ryan Hibbs, Ph.D., Faculty
  • Ying Li, Ph.D., Research Staff
  • Massimo Trusel, Ph.D., Postdoc
  • Lenora Volk, Ph.D., Faculty
  • Joseph Takahashi, Ph.D., ex officio