Neurocritical Care Fellowship

Overview of Clinical Services

The Division of Neurocritical Care at UT Southwestern is jointly supported by both the departments of Neurosurgery and Neurology & Neurotherapeutics. We have six primary faculty members and several secondary faculty members from neurointerventional, neurosurgery, neuroanesthesia, surgical and pediatric critical care. We provide intensive care at both the Neuroscience Intensive Care Unit (Neuro ICU) at Zale Lipshy University Hospital and Parkland Memorial Hospital

The Neuro ICU at Zale Lipshy is a 20-bed ICU that is a large tertiary referral center for complicated vascular neurosurgical cases that include aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage, arteriovenous malformation, and dural fistula. UT Southwestern received Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Center designation in 2013 and it is the only such center in the DFW region. 

We have a large Advanced Practice Provider Program with Advanced Practice Nurses and Physician Assistants and our multidisciplinary rounds consist of Critical Care Nurses, Respiratory Therapists, dedicated ICU Pharmacists, Case Managers, and Nutritionists.

Parkland Memorial Hospital is a Dallas County Level I Trauma Center and is currently working toward comprehensive stroke center designation. It opened in summer of 2015 and has 862 single-patient rooms and a dedicated 12-bed Neuro ICU with adjacent advanced CT imaging capability that was recently featured in the Neurocritical Care Society’s publication, Currents. 

Both ICUs are equipped with the latest Philips© Intellivue monitors, bronchoscopy procedure carts, Sonosite© portable ultrasound, noninvasive cardiac output monitoring, surface and intravascular cooling techniques, and video laryngoscopy with Glidescope© and McGrath©.

Neurocritical Care Curriculum

Two-year program accredited by United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties and the Texas Medical Board and developed based on UCNS Training Requirements and UCNS Curriculum. We train applicants from neurology, internal medicine, emergency medicine, and anesthesia residency training.

  • 52-62 weeks – Neuro ICU
  • 12-16 weeks –  Medical, Surgical, and Cardiothoracic ICU
  • 4 weeks – Anesthesia (airway proficiency at beginning of fellowship)
  • 4 weeks – Neurosonology
  • 22-28 weeks – Elective/Selectives/Research

Available electives: Neurosurgery, ICU EEG Monitoring, Stroke, Infectious Disease, Palliative Care, Emergency Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Neuroanesthesia, Neuro-Interventional Radiology. 

This represents a typical training pathway in our fellowship but adjustments can be made to better serve a candidate's career goals.

We offer a UCNS accredited one-year fellowship for applicants with training in critical care medicine and neurosurgery.

We also offer a combined Neuroanesthesia/Neurocritical Care training pathway for Anesthesiologists. For additional educational material, visit Open Anesthesia.

Education and Didactics

We have weekly didactic conferences attended by faculty, fellows, residents and NP/PAs which include journal article exchange, lectures on neurological and general critical care, debates, interesting case presentations and M&M. Procedural skills are developed first with simulation for central venous cannulation, arterial cannulation, non-invasive ventilation, endotracheal intubation and bedside critical care ultrasound. Training in EVD and intracranial monitor placement is supported by the Neurosurgery department. Fellows are expected to take part in monthly ICU quality improvement meetings and develop their own Quality Improvement projects. There is a combined critical care specialties lecture once a month that features local and guest speakers.


We are involved in several clinical trials and list can be seen here at Neurocritical Care Research. We have monthly Neurocritical Care/Neurotrauma research meetings to propose new research ideas, discuss ongoing progress of current research and invited presenters from other departments. We have several clinical research networks with the Texas Institute for Brain Injury & Repair, Lonestar Stroke Network and the NIH supported Neuro NEXT network.  There are also opportunities for bench and translational research at UT Southwestern and off-campus neural engineering and cortical plasticity research at UT Dallas Neuroscience.

Salary and Benefits

Salary is very competitive nationally and is commensurate with PGY-5 and PGY-6 training levels.  Fellows are given a generous yearly educational allowance for attendance of national meetings and extra-curricular training. A total of 15 days (three weeks) of vacation time are given per year. Additional medical, dental and retirement benefits are also available.

How to Apply

We participate in the Neurocritical Care Fellowship Match Program via the SF Match and receive applications via the Central Application System (CAS). For inquiries about the application process, fellowship positions listed outside the match or any questions about our program please email Stephen Figueroa, Fellowship Director, and Regina McGarry, Fellowship Administrative Assistant.

Graduated Fellows

Junaid Kalia, M.D. (Aurora Health Care – Wisconsin) – Private Practice

Noly Pierre-Louis, M.D. (Medical Center of Plano – Texas) – Fellowship in Neurointerventional Stroke

Shraddha Mainali, M.D. (Ohio State University) – Assistant Professor

Cyrus Dastur, M.D. (University of California - Irvine) – Assistant Professor, Director of Neurocritical Care

Stanley Lue, M.D. (Swedish Medical Center - Seattle, WA) – Private Practice

Zac Mahdavi, M.D. (Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth) - Private Practice

Aashish Patel, D.O. (JFK Medical Center) – Private Practice

Claudia Perez, M.D. (Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth) - Private Practice

Bappaditya Ray, M.D. (University of Oklahoma) – Assistant Professor

Stephen Figueroa, M.D. (UT Southwestern) – Assistant Professor, Neurocritical Care Fellowship Director

Fazeel Siddiqui, M.D. (Southern Illinois University) –  Fellowship in Neurointerventional Stroke

Ishwara Sankara, M.D. (University of Utah) – Assistant Professor